Skip main navigation

Outdated or Unsupported Browser Detected
DWD's website uses the latest technology. This makes our site faster and easier to use across all devices. Unfortunatley, your browser is out of date and is not supported. An update is not required, but it is strongly recommended to improve your browsing experience. To update Internet Explorer to Microsoft Edge visit their website.

New Hire Reporting for Wisconsin Employers

To Help Ensure the Integrity of the Unemployment Insurance Program and Locate Parents with Child Support Obligations

New Hire is a national program required by both state and federal laws designed to quickly locate parents with child support obligations.

New Hire information will also be used in the administration of Social Security and public assistance programs, and to detect and prevent fraud within Unemployment Insurance and potential other programs.

Accurate and timely reporting by employers is essential for the continued success of the program.

A Simple, Effective Process

  • Employers submit information on every newly hired or rehired employee to the Department of Workforce Development.
  • New Hire data is stored in the State Directory and matched against state child support cases.
  • If a match is found, a wage withholding notice is sent to the employer for collection of child support.

All states' New Hire, quarterly wage and Unemployment Insurance benefit data are transmitted to the National Directory for interstate matching and child support enforcement.


All employers with a FEIN (Federal Employer Identification Number) must participate in New Hire reporting.

An employee is any individual who is considered an employee for federal income tax withholding purposes.

A newly hired employee is:

  • Any individual reporting to work with an employer for the first time.
  • Any individual rehired, recalled, or returning to work after an unpaid interval of more than 60 days. The hire date for this type of employee is the return to work date.

New Hire reports are regularly compared against wage files to identify reporting compliance.

Employers who have never reported to New Hire should submit all current employees immediately to insure compliance.

Wisconsin law (s. 103.05 and Ch. DWD 142, Wis. Adm. Code) requires employers to report each employee hired after 1998 or later. This is in compliance with U.S Code Title 42.

Reports Must Contain

  • Employee name
  • Employee address
  • Employee social security number
  • Employee date of birth
  • Employer name
  • Employer payroll address
  • Employer FEIN
  • Date of hire

Reporting Methods

  • Secure Internet Site:
    • Enter individual new hire reports online
    • Transfer an entire file of new hire reports
  • Paper
    • WT-4
    • W-4 (be sure to include date of hire)

Due Dates

Within 20 days after the date the employee starts work. Incomplete reports are discarded.

Options for Multistate Employers

Federal legislation allows employers with employees in more than one state the option to choose a single state for all New Hire reporting.

More information is available on our web site at or by calling toll free (888) 300-4473.


  • Internet reporting is very convenient and eliminates mailing costs.Visit our web site at Follow the links to New Hire to register for a user password and start reporting online.
  • The employer address on New Hire reports will be used by Child Support Enforcement agencies to send wage withholding notices. Please consistently provide the best employer address for this use on your New Hire reports.
  • Please do not include a cover sheet with faxed reports.
  • Duplicate reporting increases program costs. Please do not submit an individual report more than once per each date of hire or rehire.


You may find the following on our website:

  • WT-4 form
  • File specifications for electronic reporting
  • Answers to frequently asked questions

Call Toll Free (888) 300-4473

Staff available to answer questions Monday through Friday 8:00am - 4:00pm

Wisconsin New Hire Reporting
P.O. Box 14431
Madison, WI 53708

Fax (800) 277-8075

Web Site


The Wisconsin Employers' Overview of the Child Support Program contains information on wage withholding. To obtain a copy visit: or call (608) 266-9909

Publication Number: UCB-10677-P

DWD is an equal opportunity employer and service provider. If you have a disability and need assistance with this information, please dial 7-1-1 for Wisconsin Relay Service. Please contact the Unemployment Insurance Division at (414) 435-7069 to request information in an alternate format, including translated to another language.

Updated: October 11, 2017