WIOA Title I-A & I-B Policy & Procedure Manual
Ch. 1) Administration and Governance

1.3 Local Workforce Development Areas (WDA) and Planning Regions

1.3.3 Subsequent Designations

Effective date: July 1, 2020

At any time, the CEO and local WDB from any unit of local government, including local government consortia, may request to be designated as a local WDA. Requests will be reviewed by the CWI, which will make recommendations to the Governor, who will approve or deny the request in accordance with established policy.1

Designations of local WDAs will be ongoing2 as long as those areas:

  1. Perform successfully;3
  2. Sustain fiscal integrity;
  3. and
  4. Meet the requirements of WIOA Section 106(c)(1) when involved in a planning region.

Local areas that are able to demonstrate successful performance and fiscal integrity must be permitted to continue to operate and may not be re-designated without the consent of the local WDB and CEO in the local area.4 Regular Review of Designations

The Governor may review a local area at any time to evaluate whether that area continues to meet the requirements for subsequent designation.5

The Governor must review local area designations at least once every four years, to coincide with the four-year state planning cycle.6

The local area and CEO must be considered to have requested continued designation unless the local area and CEO notify the Governor that they no longer seek designation. 7

Fiscal Integrity

Effective date: July 1, 2020

A local workforce development area (WDA) has "fiscal integrity" if the Secretary of Labor has not made a formal determination that either the grant recipient or the administrative entity of the WDA misexpended funds due to willful disregard of the requirements of the provision involved, gross negligence, or failure to comply with accepted standards of administration for the two-year period preceding the determination.

WIOA Sec. 106(e)(2)