## Worker's Compensation Insurance Letter

modrance Letter	
INS#	429
Date	April 6, 2001
Program	Claims Management
Type	Correction-underlined
Replaces	428



## State of Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development

201 East Washington Avenue P.O. Box 7901 Madison, WI 53707-7901 Telephone: (608) 266-1340 e-mail: DWDDWC@dwd.state.wi.us

http://www.dwd.state.wi.us/

To: Insurance Carriers' and Self Insured Employers' Claims Handling Offices

From: Judy Norman Nunnery, Division Administrator

Subject: Change in automated payment monitoring for the 3-day Waiting Period

<u>Purpose:</u> Announce the implementation of a change in how the worker's compensation automated Information Claims Management System (ICMS) checks for proper indemnity payment of the 3-day waiting period.

**Background:** Beginning April 7, 2001, ICMS will be modified to correct its programmed instructions that checks for proper payment of the 3-day waiting period. Prior to this date, ICMS was programmed to use the day after the last day worked as the start date for counting the 3-day waiting period. This resulted in underpayment of some claims. This has now been changed to begin the count with the <u>day after the</u> date of injury <u>(excluding Sundays unless the claimant is scheduled to work on Sundays--ICMS will assume the claimant is not scheduled to work Sundays).</u>

Although often the last day worked is the same as the injury date, there are instances where employment continues after the date of injury and lost time begins at a later date. The statute governing payment for the 3-day waiting period is s 102.43, Wis. Statutes which reads:

If the injury causes disability, an indemnity shall be due as wages commencing the 4<sup>th</sup> calendar day from the commencement of the day the scheduled work shift began, exclusive of Sundays only, excepting where the employe works on Sunday, after the employe leaves work as the result of the injury, and shall be payable weekly thereafter, during such disability. If the disability exists after 7 calendar days from the date the employe leaves work as a result of the injury and only if it so exists, indemnity shall also be due and payable for the first 3 calendar days, exclusive of Sundays only, excepting where the employe works on Sunday.

The phrase "from the date the employe leaves work as a result of the injury" is interpreted to mean the point in time that the employee leaves the work station to report the injury or receive first aid and/or medical assistance regardless of when lost time from work begins.

The Division estimates that this change will affect about 30 claims that are currently open and about 200 new claims annually. This modification to ICMS will not be made retroactively to claims that have been closed. A training aid is enclosed to help claims administrators determine when to begin indemnity payments in conjunction with the 3-day waiting period.

**Action Requested:** None. This is advisory only.

Inquiries: For questions, contact Vicki Smith, (608) 261-6532

Enclosures: Training aid

References: None