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Initial Screening by WCD

« Automatically screen claims with greater than 13 weeks
of Temporary Total Disability (TTD) paid

* Voluntary employment status questionnaire is sent out to
determine potential need for vocational rehabilitation

oHas end of healing (EOH) been reached?
ols there a wage loss?
o Are there permanent restrictions or permanent disability?

» Referinjured workers who potentially qualify for voc
rehab to DVR
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Voc Rehab Steps
Permanent work If suitable employment Worker's Benefits
restrictions signed  within restrictions and Comp paid
by doctor are paying at least 90% of insurance consistent
provided to the AWW is not available, adjuster with
employer, who claimant and DVR voc reviews IPE. accepted
responds within counselor develop plan.
60 days. Individualized Plan for
Employment (IPE).
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Benefits of Retraining for WC Claims

« Tuition, school fees, books

o Laptop or other equipment required for program may be
covered if determined necessary by IPE

» DVR requires their participants in retraining to apply for
federal student aid (FAFSA)

o Grants reduce cost of tuition paid by insurance carrier
o Scholarships are awarded to injured worker
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Benefits of Retraining for WC Claims

Mileage and meals are paid at state employee rate:
« Travel for school $0.51 per mile

« Breakfast: $10

e Lunch: $12

« Dinner: $23

https://dpm.wi.gov/Documents/BCER/Compensation/PocketTravel%2
0Guide 11 2023.pdf
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Benefits of Retraining for WC Claims

Maintenance = TTD rate

» Noft to exceed 80 weeks, unless WCD determines that
additional school is necessary to replace average weekly
wage (AWW)

» Permanent Partial Disability (PPD) continues to accrue
during breaks from school

Case law: Massachusetts Bonding Insurance Co. v. Industrial Commission. 275 Wis.
505 (1957)
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Additional Info

« Injured worker can work up to 24 hours per week while
participating in retraining without reducing the
maintenance benefit.

* Employee can still be eligible for voc rehab benefit, even
if declared Permanent Total Disability (PTD).

« If injured worker is residing outside of Wisconsin, they can
still participate in vocational refraining by working with a
private vocational counselor. Private vocational
counselors should contact WCD to be certified for
Wisconsin worker's compensation claims.
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Questions?

Chelsea Newby Frank Salvi
Vocational Rehabilitation Specialist  Vocational Rehabilitation Specialist
608-266-5303 608-267-4327

Chelseal.Newby@dwd.wisconsin.gov Frank.Salvi@dwd.wisconsin.gov

O https://dwd.wisconsin.gov/wc/voc rehab
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