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Overview

« Wisconsin wage statute and WKC 13-Al
« Calculating wages

« Temporary total disability (TTD), permanent partial
disability (PPD), and escalation

« Wage investigation
« Part-time employees and self-restriction
« Wage variants
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Where Do Our Wage Rules Come From?

« Almost all wage “rules” are derived from Wisconsin
statute 102.11.

 Wage Information Supplement (WKC-13A1) is the
required form that asks for the information needed o
calculate the wage based on these rules.

« To avoid a surcharge, WKC-13A1 must be filed within 30
days of the first WKC-13. If an “expect by” date is given,
this deadline can be pushed back 20 days.
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WKC-13A1 — General Info

o General Info e Pay Information e Gross Wages o Additions To Cash Wage e Scheduled Hours/Overtime e Part Time o Summary

Date of Birth (MM/DDYYYY)®

03/10/1982 )

Is the claimant an agricultural employee? C) Yes @ No

Insurer Contact Name®

CLAIMS ADJUSTER

Insurer Contact Phone*

(800) 555 1234 Insurer Contact Phone  ap ) STER@TESTINSURER1 COM
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WKC-13AT1 = Pay Information

o General Info e Pay Information e Gro

You must ver at least 1 of t

o

s

If the Claimant is paid solely by commission, mileage, or some other method, where scheduled hours are not used, skip question 1 and go on to answer any of questions 2 through 6 that may apply

1. O Hourly Rate O Weekly Rate O Monthly Rate 8

n

. Pay included tips:

$Bass Hourly Rate SAverage Tips per Week

3. Paid by Piece Rate. Enter the total hours worked and wages earned in the 52 week period prior to the injury (Excluding overtime hours)
Hours «\Wages

4. Wages included differential. I the claimant's hourly wages included difierential per hour ai the time of day when the injury occurred, enter differential per hour.
Differential per hour

§. Exceptional basis of pay

Basis of Pay/\Wage Comments

#

0/200

@»

. Seasonal employee. If the claimant's occupation is seasonal, enter the number of weeks in the season (whole number):

Number of weeks
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WKC-13AT — Gross Wages

ours/Cvertime e Part Time

o General Info o Pay Information e Gross Wages

1. Gross Taxable Wages in a8 52 Week Period Prior To Week Of Injury. Exclude week of injury and tips. Include annual commissicn, overlime, and bonuses.

Gross Wages”

$ 50360.00

2.. Number of weeks worked in 52 Week Period Prior To Week Of Injury. Exclude week of injury in the number of weeks.

3. Date of Hire.

Date of Hire (MM/DD/YYYY)*
06/15/2020 E
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WKC-13A1 - Additions to Cash Wage

° General Info o Pay Information o Gross Wages o Additions To Cash Wage e Scheduled Hours/Overtime e Part Time

1. Free Meals: Enter number of meals per week.

[

. Daily Room® Enter number of days per week

Days per week

L

Other additions to cash wage:

Enter description of item Enter weekly value amount

=~

. Did the claimant continue to receive additions to cash wage during the healing period? O Yes O No
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WKC-13A1 - Scheduled Hours Overtime

o General Info o Pay Information o Gross Wages o Additions To Cash Wage e Scheduled Hours/Overtime e Part Time

1. Normal full time hours scheduled by the employer for this type of wark:

Full time hours

40.00

2. If employer scheduled claimant to work on a regular alternating weekly basis, enter the number of hours for the regular alternating schedule:.

3. Time and a half pay:
If the employer paid time and a half. enter the number of hours worked before time and a half was paid:

Hours worked

.00

4. Double time pay:
If the employer paid double time, enter the number of hours worked before double time was paid

Hours worked

5. Was claimant scheduled to work full time in this job each week? @ Yes O No
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WKC-13AT1 - Part Time

@ ceneral into @ Pay inormation @ Gross wages @ Acditions To Cash Wage @ scheduled Hours/Overtime © Part Time

1. Does the claimant have employment outside of the employer at which the injury occurred?

2. Did the claimant work less than full time for less than 12 months prior to the injury?

3. Claimant's average weekly hours worked in in the 52 weeks prior to the injury.

4. Does the claimant limit themselves to part-time work?

LIy m
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Calculating Average Weekly Wage

Average Weekly Wage will be based on the greater of:

Hourly X Hours per
Rate Week

OR
Gross _ Weeks
Earnings B Worked
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Hourly Rate

 Hourly Rate entered should be the rate the employee
was earning at the time of injury.

« Break down any set rates of pay (weekly, monthly,
salary) to an hourly rate.

« Include shift differential (additional amounts employer
pays for working nights and weekends) in hourly rate it
employee was earning it at time of injury.

« Hourly rate must be at least minimum wage.
o $7.25 per hour or $2.33 per hour with fips
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Hours Per Week

 Number of hours the employee is regularly scheduled
each week.

« Full-fime workers are assumed to be working 40 hours per
week.

« For employees working more or less than 40 hours per
week, expect a request for hours worked in the 13 weeks
prior to the injury.

@@@ DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV




Gross Earnings

« Total gross taxable earnings the claimant earned in the
52-week period immediately prior to the week of injury.

« Do notinclude earnings from week of injury unless
claimant was injured on a Friday or Saturday - then
include those earnings.

* |nclude any bonuses.
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Gross Earnings (cont.)

Do not include in gross earnings:

* Any weeks where the claimant has disability earnings,
FMLA, Temporary Total Disability (TTD), or Temporary
Partial Disability (TPD) from a previous claim;

« Tips (added in separately); or

« Non-taxable earnings (reimbursements, per diem, etc.)
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Weeks Worked

« Total number of weeks worked in the 52 weeks prior to
the week of injury.

 Weeks start on Sunday and end on Saturday.

A week should be counted if any part of a week was
worked (except the week of injury.)

« Hours paid in lieu of work, such as vacation, holiday, or
personal fime, should be included as “worked.”
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Less Than Six Weeks

« |If an employee has worked less than six (6) weeks, gross
earnings cannot be used to determine average weekly
wage (AWW.)

« AWW will only be based on the Hourly Rate x Hours per
Week.
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Overtime

« Overtime (OT) should be paid at time and a half to
employees if they have worked more than 40 hours In
one week.

« Overtime should only be included in ‘Hours Per Week’ if
employee regularly works that schedule.

« |f random amounts of overtime are worked each week,
overtime would not be included in ‘Hours Per Week,’ but
all overtime earnings would still be included in ‘Gross
Earnings.’
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Overtime (cont.)

The *Hourly Rate x Hours Worked' equation furns into:

(Hourly Rate x Regular Hours Worked)
+

(OT Rate x OT Hours Worked)
/

(OT Rate = Hourly Rate x 1.5)
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Alternating Schedule

« |If the claimant works an alternating schedule every two
weeks (with no overtime either week,) the hours per
week entered would be the average of the two weeks.

« If the claimant works an alternating schedule with
overtime, the regular hours would be averaged
separately from the overtime hours.
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TTD and PPD Rates

« Temporary Total Disability (TTD) and Permanent Partial

Disability (PPD) rates will be set at 2/3 of the AWW until it
gets to the max rate.

* |If the claimant is younger than 27 years old, PPD wiill
automatically be set fo max rate.
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Maximum TTD and PPD Rates - 2024

Average Weekly Wage $1,944.00
Temporary Total Disability $1,296.00
Permanent Partial Disability $438.00

Current historical wage and rate chart:
hitps://dwd.wisconsin.gov/dwd/publications/wc/wkc-9572-

p.pdfev3
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Escalation

If there is a renewed period of TTD or TPD two or more years
after the original period of disability ended, the TID rate used
will be escalated in proportion to the current max rate.

Excmple: TTD Max TTD Percent
2017 $446 $961 46.4%
2023 $578.61 $1247 46.4%

« In 2017, claimant’s TTD rate was S$S446, or 46.4% of the 2017 maximum
TTD rate of $961.

 |In 2023, claimant resumed TID for the same claim. His TTD rate was
escalated to 46.4% of 2023 maximum TTD rate of $1247, or $578.61.
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Wage Investigation

« About 30% of WKC-13ATs (roughly 8,000 claims per year)
filed will be put into “Wage Investigation.”

« Of that 30%, about half will stay the same.

 Don’'t panic: we will let you know if we need more
Information.

 Once aclamisin Wage Investigation, only we can take
It out of investigation. Submitting more WKC-13ATs will
not change that.
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Request for Week-by-Week Wages

WC CLAIM NO: 9999-999999 IF YOU CALL OR WRITE US
INJURY DATE: 01/01/98 PLEASE USE WC CLAIM NO.
EMPLOYEE: SIMPLES-SAMPLER, TESTER SAMPLE

EMPLOYER: SAMPLE EMPLOYER

INSURER NO:

We received wage information that indicates the average weekly wage used for computing the
TTD/PPD rate(s) may be incorrect. Please submit the following information for verification of the
correct average weekly wage:

* A week-by-week listing of gross taxable earnings for the 52-week period starting
immediately prior to the week in which the injury occurred. Include earnings for
overtime, bonuses, incentive or performance pay, commissions and all other taxable
earnings excluding tips.

* If the employee received tips, send a week-by-week list of the tips reported.

e If the employee worked for this employer less than 52 weeks prior to the week of
injury, list earnings from the date of hire.

If you do not reply to this request for wage information within 30 days we may assess a surcharge
of $100 in accordance with s.102.35(1), Wis. Stats.

If you have questions or need help please contact us by calling (608) 266-1340 and then ask for a
wage analyst.

Thank you for your assistance in assuring correct compensation payments.
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Why Would We Request Thise

« The number of weeks worked entered on the WKC-13A1
Is impossible based on Date of Hire and Date of Injury.

« The quarterly gross earnings the employer reported to Ul
s significantly different than what was reported on the
WKC-13AT.

« Something just doesn’t look right:
o Gross is very high or low

o Weeks are very high or low
o No tips reported for a job that typically gets tips
o Earnings fluctuate across quarters in Ul database

@@@ DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV




Questions?
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Part-Time Employees

STEVEN McKINNEY
Wage Analyst



Everyone Gets Paid Full-tfime...

« 102.11(1)(a)3: “The average weekly earnings shall be
arrived at by mulfiplying the employee's hourly earnings
by the hours in the normal full-time work week as
established by the employer.”

« Full time employees are those who are regularly
scheduled to work more than 35 hours per week.

« For those employees who work less than full fime, the
above statute expands their wages to full fime.
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Everyone Gets Paid Full-tfime...

 As of 4/10/22: For part-fime employees, wage expansion
to a 40-hour work week is limited to part-time employees
who are:

o Employed by another employer, or

o Who have been employed part-time less than 12 months
before the injury, unless they have submitted a signed and

dated self-restriction form. (Repeal of s. 102.11 (1)(am) and (f)1 and
creation of s. 102.11(1)(ap))
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...Excepft Self-Restricting PT Employees

Employees are self-restricted to part-time employment
when:

« There is documentation from the employer confirming
the job is only for part-time work, or

 The employee states on the employment application
that they only want to work part-time, or

« Before the injury, the employee has voluntarily
completed a self-restriction form. (WKC-12698-¢e)
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Self-restriction

 Employees who restrict themselves to part-time work on
the labor market are eligible to have resiricted claims.

« Self-restriction form must be signed and dated by
employee (or legal guardian.)

« Can only be applied by a wage analyst after all
requirements have been met.
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Why Would an Employee Seli-Restricte

« TID for part-time employees who self-restrict will be paid
at 100% of actual AWW - not .6667%)!

« Self-restricting to a part-time schedule is a way to reduce
expanded hours to the higher of their hourly rate for
average hours worked or their actual weekly gross
earnings.

« Self-restriction does not affect the PPD rate. PPD will be
calculated based on a non-restricted AWW.
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Limitations on Self-restriction

 Employee cannot have more than one job.

 TTD rate cannot exceed what it would be if hours were
expanded to full fime.

o Newly-hired part-time workers, or those who work more than 27
hours per week may not be eligible.

o If youreceive an error that an employee cannoft restrict, this is
usually why.
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Limitations on Self-restriction (cont.)

Cannot accepft self-restriction forms that:
« Reference the injury as a reason.
o "“Doctorsaid | couldn’t work full time”
« Reference not being able to find full time work.

o “Employer only had part-time work available”
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Limitations on Self-restriction (cont.)

Cannot accepft self-restriction forms that:

« Aren’'tsigned and dated by employee or employee’s
legal guardian.

* Are coercive or misleading.
o Must give an option to select yes or no.

o Cannot imply stoppage of benetfits if not filled out.
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TEST INSURER 2
C/O TEST INSURER 2
123 JENNIFER ST
MADISON WI| 53703

WC CLAIM NO: 9999-999999 IF YOU CALL OR WRITE US
INJURY DATE: 01/01/22 PLEASE USE WC CLAIM NO.
EMPLOYEE: SIMPLES-SAMPLER, TESTER SAMPLE

EMPLOYER: SAMPLE EMPLOYER

INSURER NO:

You advised us that you are paying worker's compensation benefits at 100% of the employee's actual wage. This is
correct if at the time of the injury the employee restricted his or her availability to part-time work and was not
employed elsewhere.

However, you did not include the required self-restriction statement from the employee. Please send us a self-
restriction statement immediately.

If we do not receive a reply within 30 days, we will assume that the employee did not self-restrict, and we will increase
the weekly rate to either two-thirds of the wages for 24 hours of work (if the employee was part of a class at the time of
injury) or two-thirds of the wages for full-time work (usually 40 hours).
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Department of Workforce Development
Worker's Compensation Division
201 E. Washington Ave., Rm. C100

P.0O.Box 7901
STATEMENT OF SELF-RESTRICTION Tologhone, (600) 206-1340
TO PART-TIME WORK Imaging Fax Server: (608) 260-2503

Fax: (608) 267-0394

hitps:/idvwad.wisconsin.gov/we
S TO Te I I l e nT O e-mail: DWDDWC@dvwd.visconsin.gov
L] L]
S e | f_ R eSTrl C TI O n - *Provision ofyour Social Security Number (SSN) is voluntary. Failure to provide it may result in an information processing delay.

TheDepartment o fWorkforce Development (DWD) administersthe Worker's Compensation Act, Chapter 102 Wis. Stats. The purpose ofthisformisto
assist with the procurement o finformation related to orrequired by Chapter 102. Completion o fthis form is voluntaryand failureto complete said form

P O rT ] may resultin a delay in the administration o fChapter102. DWD may use the personallyidentifiable information (Pll) it o btains from you onthis form for
purposes other than those for which itis being collected.

EMPLOY EE NAME:
EMPLOYEE S.S. #"
DATE OF INJURY:

This form is needed to properly compute the wage for your Worker's Compensation benefits.
Please answerthe following questions, sign, date and return to your insurance carrier or self-insured

employer.

1. At the time of your injury, did you limit your availability in the labor market to part-time work or
to work only with the employer where you were injured?
OYes 0ONo

If Yes, explain your limitation:
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Statement of Self-Restriction — Part 2

At the time of your injury, were you also employed by another employer or self-employed?

[JYes [ No

If Yes, please provide us with the name and address of your other employer below:

Employer Name:

Employer Address:

Signed

Phone Number: ( )

Area Code

Dated
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Questions?
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Wage Variants

KEITH KINION
Wage Analyst



Exceptional Basis of Pay

« Specific careers may have particular rules that calculate
their average weekly wage (AWW) differently from other
jobs.

« On the WKC-13A1, select the "Exceptional Basis of Pay”
option from the drop-down box in Section 1, Number 5.
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All the “"Exceptional” Categories

Coach - Only

Newspaper Carrier - PT

School Bus Driver - PT

Commission Only — FT

Ofther

School Crossing Guard - PT

Commission Only — PT

Paid By The Mile - FT

Sheltered Employee - PT

Flight Attendant - PT

Paid by The Mile - PT

Sole Proprietor
(Business Owner)

K-12 Cafeteria Worker — PT Prisoner Taxicab Driver
K-12 Teacher and Coach Pro & Semi-Pro Athlete Trucker - Owned Truck
K-12 Teacher Only Pulp Cutter Volunteer Fire Fighter/ EMT
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Teachers/School Workers

« The typical school year lasts 38 weeks. The number of
weeks enftered on the WKC-13A1 is the weeks worked.

« Teachers can opt fo have their
contract paid during the school
year (38 weeks) or throughout
the whole year (52 weeks), so ’
paychecks might not reflect total leg
earnings for the weeks worked.

- | L= =
e T

« AWW is based on annual salary
and percentage of confract fulfilled.
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Business Owners

« AWW based on Net Profit reported on business owners’
taxes for the tax year prior to year of injury.

« Typically reported on either Schedule C or Schedule K-1.
We will ask you to provide a copy of this.

« Minimum wage (AWW: $290) is the lowest we will set
business owners’ AWW.,

* |f owners refuse to furnish the proper tax documents,
wage will be set to minimum wage.
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Commission-Only or Paid by the Mile

« These workers have no set rate of pay — they are paid on
commission or by the mile.

« If they work full time, AWW is based on their gross/weeks
worked. Hourly rate x hours would not be considered.

« |If they have worked fewer than six (6) weeks (i.e., cannot
use gross), send similar wages of a like employee.

* |If they work part-time, hourly rate is calculated by
dividing gross earnings by hours worked.
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Volunteer/Paid On-Call Firefighters

« AWW set to the maximum rate for the year of injury, or
we will accept full-time wages from the nearest full-time/
career fire department.

 When submitting WKC-13AT1, note which fire department
you contacted to obtain the full-time wages.

« Refer to Calculating Wage binder for more detailed

information on why we handle volunteer rescue worker
wages this way.
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Other Exceptional Categories

« Piecework
« Seasonal Employment
* TipsS

« Room and Board

o Refer to PocketTravelGuide.pdf
(https://dpm.wi.gov/Documents/BCER/Compensation/PocketTravelGuide.pdfevi)
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Questions?

KEITH KINION (A-N)
(608) 266-3264
keithc .kinlon@dwd.wisconsin.govVv

STEVEN McKINNEY (O-17)
(608) 261-4406
steven.mckinney@dwd.wisconsin.govVv
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