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Initial Screening by WCD

« Automatically screen claims with greater than 13 weeks
of Temporary Total Disability (TTD) paid

* Voluntary employment status questionnaire is sent out to
determine potential need for vocational rehabilitation

o Has end of healing (EOH) been reached?
o Isthere a wage loss2
o Are there permanent restrictions or permanent disability?

« Referinjured workers who potentially qualify for voc
rehab to DVR
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Voc Rehab Steps
Permanent If suitable employment  Worker's Comp Benefits paid
work restrictions  within restrictions and insurance consistent with
signed by paying at least 90% of adjuster reviews accepted plan.
doctor are AWW is not available, IPE.
provided fo the claimant and DVR voc
employer, who  counselor develop
responds within  Individualized Plan for
60 days. Employment (IPE).
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Benefits of Retraining for WC Claims

« Tuition, school fees, books

o Laptop or other equipment required for program may be
covered if determined necessary by IPE

« DVR requires their participants in retraining to apply for
federal student aid (FAFSA)

o Grantsreduce cost of tuition paid by insurance carrier
o Scholarships are awarded to injured worker
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Benefits of Retraining for WC Claims

Mileage and meals are paid at state employee rate:
« Travel for school $0.51 per mile

« Breakfast: $10

* Lunch: $12

« Dinner: $23

PocketTravelGuide.pdf

(https://dpm.wi.gov/Documents/BCER/Compensation/PocketTravelGuide.pdfevi)
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Benefits of Retraining for WC Claims

Maintenance = TTD rate

+ Not to exceed 80 weeks, unless WCD determines that
additional school is necessary to replace average
weekly wage (AWW)

« Permanent Partial Disability (PPD) continues to accrue
during breaks from school

Case law: Massachusetts Bonding Insurance Co. v. Industrial Commission. 275 Wis.
505 (1957)
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Additional Info

Injured worker can work up to 24 hours per week while
participating in retraining without reducing the

maintenance benefit.

Employee can still be eligible for voc rehab benefit, even
if declared Permanent Total Disability (PTD).

If injured worker resides outside of Wisconsin, can sfill
participate in vocational retraining by working with a
private vocational counselor. Private vocational
counselors should contact WCD to be certified for
Wisconsin worker's compensation claims.
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Vocational Rehabilitation Specialist

Chelseal.Newby@dwd.wisconsin.gov

Questions?

Chelsea Newby

Frank Salvi

Vocational Rehabilitation Specialist

608-266-5303 608-267-4327

Frank.Salvi@dwd.wisconsin.gov

@ https://dwd.wisconsin.gov/wc/voc-rehab/vr-guide.htm
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