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Overview

« Wisconsin statutes relating to wage
» Calculating wages

« Temporary total disability (TTD) and permanent partial
disability (PPD)

* Full-time vs. part-time employees
» Wage Variants
» Practice Problems
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Where Do Our Wage Rules Come From?¢

« Almost all wage “rules” are derived from Wisconsin
statute 102.11.

* Wage Information Supplement (WKC-13A1) is the
required form that asks for the information needed to
calculate the wage based on these rules.

» To avoid a surcharge, WKC-13A1 must be filed within 60
days of the first WKC-13. If you are unable to get the
needed information by then, an “expect by” date can
be pushed back 90 days.
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SECTION 1. PAY INFORMATION
If The Claimant Is Paid Solely By Commission, Mileage, Or Some Other Method, Where Scheduled Hours
Are Not Used, Skip Question 1 In Section 1 And Go On To Answar Any Of Questions 2 Through & That May Apply.

Hourly Rate  © Weekly Rate O Monthly Rate —
Note: One Of The Following May Also ApPY.
Pay Included Tips:

Enter The Total Hours Worked And Wages Earned In The 52 Week
Period Prior To The Injury (Excluding Overtime Hours).
Hours:

 — |
Wages —1
4 Wages included iffarancat
1 e Cltmane Hourly Wages ncludad Differencil Par Hour At The
Time OF Day when Tha Injury Gecurred, Ente Differential Par Hour: —
A.  Exceptional Basis Of Pay For Special Types Of Employment:
5 Bass of Pay/Wiate Comments
¥ The Cltmanes Occupation I Sessonal,
Enter Number Of Weeks In The Season (Whole Number): 1
secTion 2. oRoss waces
T orass Tarable Wates In A 52 Week Pariod Picr To Waak Of Inory:
Eretute Week Of njury Ard Tio
nclude Anral Commiseion, Overtime, And Bonuses.
2. Mumber Of Weeks Worked In 52 Week Feriod Pior To Wesk Of injury
Exchude Weeh Of njury In The Number OF Weeks —
3 Date of Hire (mm/dd/yyyy):  E—
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SECTION 3. ADDITIONS TO CASH WAGE
1. Free Meals: Enter Number Of Meals Per Week.
2. Daily Room: Enter Number Of Days Per Week.
3. Other Additions To Cash Wage:

A. Enter Description Of Item (e.

B.  Enter Weekly Value Amount:
4. Did Claimant Continue To Receive Additions To Cash Wage During The Healing Period? O Yes O No

. Fuel, Electricity, etc.):

SECTION 4. SCHEDULED HOURS AND OVERTIME INFORMATION
Normal Full Time Hours Scheduled By The Employer For This Type Of Work: 1
2. If Employer Scheduled Claimant To Work On A Regular Alternating Weekly Basis,
Enter The Number Of Hours For The Regular Alternating Full Time Schedule:
Alternating Schedule Week One: ]
Alternating Schedule Week Two: 1
3. Time And A Half Pay:
If The Employer Paid Time And A Half,
Enter The Number Of Hours Worked Before Time And A Half Was Paid: —
4. Double Time Pay:
If The Employer Paid Double Time,
Enter The Number Of Hours Worked Before Double Time Was Paid: ]
5. Was Claimant Scheduled To Work Full Time In This Job Each Week? Yes © No
If Yes, Part Of Class Information Completed In Section 5 Will NOT Be Saved.
If No, Complete Part Of Class Information In Section 5 Below.
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SECTION 5. PART TIME EMPLOYEES

1. Does the claimant have employment outside of the employer at which the injury occurred? O Yes O No
2. Did the claimant work less than full time for less than 12 months prior to the injury? Yes O No
3. Claimant’s average weekly hours worked in in the 52 weeks prior to the injury: [

4. Does the claimant limit themselves to part-time work? O Yes O No

SECTION 6. INSURER CONTACT INFORMATION

1. Insurer Contact Name:

2 Insurer Contact Phone:

3. Insurer Contact Email: )
(Fielp] [Submit| [Resst
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Calculating Average Weekly Wage

Average Weekly Wage will be based on the greater of:

Hourly X Hours per
Rate Week

OR
Gross ] Weeks
Earnings - Worked

DWD. WISCONSIN.GOV
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Hourly Rate

» Hourly Rate entered should be the rate the employee
was earning at the time of injury.

* Break down any set rates of pay (weekly, monthly, salary)
to an hourly rate.

 Include shift differential (additional amounts employer
pays for working nights and weekends) in hourly rate if
employee was earning it at time of injury.

» Hourly rate must be at least minimum wage.
0$7.25 per hour or $2.33 per hour with tips
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Hours Per Week

* Number of hours the employee is regularly scheduled
each week. If 35 or more hours per week, employee is
considered to be full-tfime.

» Full-time workers are assumed to be working 40 hours per
week.

» For employees working more or less than 40 hours per
week, expect a request for hours worked in the 13 weeks
prior to the injury.
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Gross Earnings

« Total gross taxable earnings the claimant earned in the
52-week period immediately prior to the week of injury.

» Do not include earnings from week of injury unless
claimant was injured on a Friday or Saturday - then it
can be included.

* Include any bonuses.
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Gross Earnings (cont.)

Do not include in gross earnings:

o Any weeks where the claimant has disability earnings, FMLA,
Temporary Total Disability (TTD), or Temporary Partial Disability
(TPD) from a previous claim;

o Tips (added in separately); or

o Non-taxable earnings (reimbursements, per diem, etc.)
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Weeks Worked

Total number of weeks worked in the 52 weeks prior to
the week of injury.

* Weeks start on Sunday and end on Saturday.

* A week should be counted if any part of a week was
worked (except the week of injury).

» Hours paid in lieu of work, such as vacation, holiday, or
personal time, should be included as “worked.”
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Less Than Six Weeks

« If an employee has worked less than six (6) weeks, gross
earnings cannot be used to defermine average weekly
wage (AWW).

« AWW will only be based on the Hourly Rate x Hours per
Week.
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Overtime

» Overtime should be paid at time and a half to employees
if they have worked more than 40 hours in one week.

» Overtime should only be included in ‘Hours Per Week' if
employee regularly works that schedule.

» If random amounts of overtime are worked each week,
overtime would NOT be included in ‘Hours Per Week," but
all overtime earnings would sfill be included in ‘Gross
Earnings.’
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Overtime (cont.)

The 'Hourly Rate x Hours Worked' equation turns into:

(Hourly Rate x Regular Hours Worked)

+

(Hourly Rate x 1.5 x OT Hours Worked)
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Alternating Schedule

« If the claimant works an alternating schedule every two
weeks (with no overtime either week), the hours per week
entered would be the average of the two weeks.

« If the claimant works an alternating schedule with
overtime, the regular hours would be averaged
separately from the overtime hours.

DWD. WISCONSIN.GOV
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TTD and PPD Rates

« Temporary Total Disability (TTD) and Permanent Partial

Disability (PPD) rates will be set at 2/3 of the AWW until it
gets to the max rate.

« If the claimant is younger than 27 years old, PPD will
automatically be set to max rate.
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Maximum TTD and PPD Rates

Average Weekly Wage $1,870.50
Temporary Total Disability $1,247.00
Permanent Partial Disability $430.00

Current historical wage and rate chart:

https://dwd.wisconsin.gov/dwd/publications/wc/wkc-9572-
p.pdfev3
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Escalation

If there is a renewed period of TTD or TPD two or more years
after the original period of disability ended, the TTID rate used
will be escalated in proportion to the current max rate.

TID Max TID Percent
Example: 2014 $446 $892 50%
2023 $623.50 $1247 50%

* In 2014, claimant's TTD rate was $446, or 50% of the 2014 maximum
TID rate of $892.

» In 2023, claimant resumed TID for the same claim. His TTD rate was
escalated to 50% of 2023 maximum TTD rate of $1247, or $623.50.

/ISCONSIN.GOV

11/13/2023

Wage Investigation

+ About 30% of WKC-13ATs (roughly 8,000 claims per year)
filed will be put into "Wage Investigation.”

« Of that 30%, about half will stay the same.

« Don't panic: we will let you know if we need more
information.

+ Once a claimis in Wage Investigation, only we can take
it out of investigation. Submitting more WKC-13A1s will not
change that.

Request for Week-by-Week Wages

WC CLAIM NO: £200-000000 JEYOU CALL ORWRITE US
INJURY DATE 01/01i08 PLEASE USE WC CLAM NO
EMPLOYEE SIMPLES-SAMPLER, TESTER SAMFLE

EMPLOYER SAMPLE EMPLOYER

INSURER NO:

We recemved wage information that indicates the average weekly wage used for computing the
TTDIPPD rate{s) may be incomect. Please submit the following informat.on for veriication of the
comect average weekly wage:
« A mesk-by-wesk Isting of gross taxabie eamings for the S2-wask period starting
immediately prior to the week in which the injury occurred. Includs eamings for
overtme. bonuses, incentve or performance pay, commissions and all other taxable
eamings exciuding ips
+ if the employee recenved fips, send a week-by-wesk it of e tps reported.

- It the employes worked for this empioyer less than 52 wesks priorto the wesk of
mjury. list eamings from the date of hire.

if you g not reply 1o this request for wage information within 30 days we may assess a surcharge
of $100 in accordance with 102 35(1), Wis. Stats.

If you have questions o need help please contact us by calling (308) 266-1240 and then ask for 3
wigs analyst.
Thank you for your ‘assuring comect s

NSIN.GOV
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Why Would We Request Thise

» The number of weeks worked entered on the WKC-13A1 is
impossible based on Date of Hire and Date of Injury.

» The quarterly gross earnings the employer reported to Ul is
significantly different than what was reported on the
WKC-13A1.

» Something just doesn’t look right:
o Gross is very high or low
o Weeks are very high or low
o No tips reported for a job that typically gefs tips
o Earnings fluctuate across quarters in Ul database

DWD. WISCONSIN.GOV

Questions?
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Everyone Gets Paid Full-time...

102.11(1)(a)3: “The average weekly earnings shall be
arrived at by multiplying the employee's hourly earnings
by the hours in the normal full-time work week as
established by the employer.”

Labor & Industry Review Commission (LIRC): Prior to
4/10/22, "The general rule is that part-time hours are
expanded to full-time hours for that employment for
purposes of determining the statutory average weekly
wage."

DWD. WISCONSIN.GOV
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...Except

Employees who self-restrict to part-time work on the labor
market

As of 4/10/22: Wage expansion for part-time employees is
limited to part-time employees who are

o Employed by another employer, or

o Who have been employed part-time less than 12 months before
the injury. (Repeal of s. 102.11 (1)(am) and (f)1 and creation of s.
102.11(1)(ap))

DWD WISCONSIN.GOV

Self-restriction

Way to reduce expanded hours to average actual
earnings or to regularly scheduled hours

Documentation from employer confirming job is only for
part-time work

Voluntary for employee to fill out
Specifying part time work on employment application

Only applies to temporary disability benefits (not PPD)

DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV




Self-restriction (cont.)
* Employees who restrict themselves to part-time work on
the labor market are eligible to have restricted claims

* Must voluntarily restrict to part-time work at the time of
injury
* Must be signed by employee (or legal guardian)

» Restricted rate is paid at 100% of regular work schedule or
average actual earnings, whichever is higher

* Can only be applied by a wage analyst

CONSIN

TEST INSURER 2
C/O TEST INSURER 2
123 JENNIFER ST
MADISON WI 53703

WC CLAIM NO: 9999-999999 F YOU CALL OR WRITE US
INJURY DATE: 01/01/98 PLEASE USE WC CLAIM NO,
EMPLOYEE: SIMPLES-SAMPLER, TESTER SAMPLE

EMPLOYER: SAMPLE EMPLOYER

INSURER NO:

You advised us that you are paying worker's compensation benefits at 100% of the employee's actual wage. This is
correct if at the time of the injury the employee restricted his or her availability to part-time work and was not
employed elsewhere.

However, you did not include the required self-restriction statement from the employee. Please send us a self-
restriction statement immediately.

If we do not receive a reply within 30 days, we will assume that the employee did not self-restrict, and we will increase
the weekly rate to either two-thirds of the wages for 24 hours of work (if the employee was part of a class at the time of
injury) or two-thirds of the wages for full-time work (usually 40 hours).

EMPLOYEE NAME:
EMPLOYEE S S. #"

DATE OF INJURY.

“This form is needed to properly compute the wage for your Worker's Compensation benef

o
Please answer the following quastions. sign, date and refurn to your Insurance carrier or se
empioyer.

insured

1. Atthe time of your injury, did you limit your avallabilty in the labor market 1o part-time work or
work el i ?

nly with the employer where you were injured
Clves

It yes, expiain your imitation;

2. Atthe time of your injury, were you alsa emplayed by ancthes empioyer of self-employed?
Yes []fo

It Yes. please provide us with the name and address of your ether employer balow.
Employer Name;

Employer Address:

Signed. Phane Number: ( ) N

Dateq,

11/13/2023
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Self-restriction Eligibility

» Cannot have two jobs

« If noregular schedule, must have worked at least six (6) full weeks

« TID rate cannot exceed what it would be if hours were expanded
to full time

o Recent part-time workers, or those who keep high number of hours, may not
be eligible

o If you receive an error that an employee cannot restrict, this is usually why

» Self-restriction does not affect the PPD rate. PPD will be calculated
based on a non-restricted AWW.

CONSIN.GOV

Self-restriction Eligibility (cont.)

Cannot accept self-restriction forms that:
» Reference the injury as areason
o “"Doctor said | couldn't work full time”

» Reference not being able to find full time work
o “Employer only had part-time work available”

* Aren't signed by the employee (or legal guardian)

* Are coercive or misleading
o Must give an option to select yes or no
o Cannot imply stoppage of benefits if not filled out

SECTION 5. PART TIME EMPLOYEES

1. Does the claimant have employment outside of the employer at which the injury occurred? O Yes O No
2. Did the claimant work less than full time for less than 12 months prior to the injury? Yes O No
3. Claimant’s average weekly hours worked in in the 52 weeks prior to the injury: [

4. Does the claimant limit themselves to part-time work? O Yes O No

SECTION 6. INSURER CONTACT INFORMATION

1. Insurer Contact Name:

2. Insurer Contact Phone: [ |

3. Insurer Contact Email: [ ]
[Felp] [Submit] [Reset

CONSIN.GOV
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Questions?
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Wage Variants

11/13/2023

Exceptional Basis of Pay

» Specific careers may have particular rules that calculate
their average weekly wage (AWW) differently from other
jobs.

* On the WKC-13A1, select the “Exceptional Basis of Pay”
option from the drop-down box in Section 1, Number 5.

DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV
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All the “Exceptional” Categories

11/13/2023

Coach-0Only

Newspaper Carrier - PT

School Bus Driver - PT

Commission Only — FT

Other

School Crossing Guard - PT

Commission Only — PT

Paid By The Mile - FT

Sheltered Employee - PT

Flight Attendant - PT

Paid by The Mile - PT

Sole Proprietor
(Business Owner)

K-12 Cafeteria Worker - PT

Prisoner

Taxicab Driver

K-12 Teacher and Coach

Pro & Semi-Pro Athlete

Trucker - Owned Truck

K-12 Teacher Only

Pulp Cutter

Volunteer Fire Fighter/ EMT

Practice Problems

DWD WISCONSIN.GOV

Exercise 1
Start Week | End Week | Gross V\rozrsd Date Hired: Monday, 1/30/23
orke .,

3/19/2019 | 3/25/2023 | $602 ™ Date Injured: Wednesday, 3/8/23
3/12/2023 | 3/18/2023 | $560 40 Age: 22

3/5/2023 | 3/11/2023 Earning $14.00/hour at time of injury
2/26/2023 | 3/4/2023 | $364 26 Works full fime

2/19/2023 | 2/25/2023 | $532 38

2/12/2023 | 2/18/2023 | $553 | 39.5 AWW:

2/5/2023 | 2/11/2023 | $560 40 TTD:

1/29/2023 | 2/4/2023 | $546 39 PPD:

1/22/2023 | 1/28/2023
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Exercise 1
Start Week | End Week | Gross V\rozrsd Date Hired: Monday, 1/30/23
orke .,

3/19/2019 | 3/25/2023 | $602 4 Date Injured: Wednesday, 3/8/23
3/12/2023 | 3/18/2023 | $560 40 Age:22

3/5/2023 | 3/11/2023 Earning $14.00/hour at time of injury
2/26/2023 | 3/4/2023 | $364 | 26 Works full fime

2/19/2023 | 2/25/2023 | $532 38

2/12/2023 | 2/18/2023 | $553 |  39.5 AWW: _5560.00
2/5/2023 | 2/11/2023 | $560 | 40 TTD: $373.33
1/29/2023 | 2/4/2023 | $546 39 PPD: §430,00
1/22/2023 | 1/28/2023

DWD. WISCONSIN.GOV
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+ Claimant’'s age:
+ Date of Hire:
» Date of Injury:

Exercise 2
31 AWW:
6/4/22
4/7/23 T1D:

« Earns $21.00/hour
» Schedule: 40 hours/week
e Gross: $43,120
* Weeks worked in year before injury: 44

PPD:

DWD WISCONSIN.GOV

+ Claimant’'s age:
+ Date of Hire:
» Date of Injury:

Exercise 2
31 AWW: _ $980.00
6/4/22
4/7/23

« Earns $21.00/hour
« Schedule: 40 hours/week
e Gross: $43,120
* Weeks worked in year before injury: 44

TID: $653.33
PPD: $430.00

DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

14



Exercise 3
Claimant’sage: 30 AWW:
Date of Hire: 6/9/16
Date of Injury: 4/6/23 TID:

Earns $26.00/hour

Schedule: 45 hours/week PPD:
Overtime paid after 40 hours/week

Gross: $56,740

Weeks worked in year before injury: 49

DWD. WISCONSIN.GOV
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Exercise 3
Claimant'sage: 30 AWW: _$1235.00
Date of Hire: 6/9/16
Date of Injury: 4/6/23 TID: $823.33
Earns $26.00/hour
Schedule: 45 hours/week PPD: 430.00

Overtime paid after 40 hours/week
Gross: $56,740
Weeks worked in year before injury: 49

DWD WISCONSIN.GOV

Part-time Exercise 1

Claimant'sage: 58 AWW:
Date of Hire: 8/20/18
Date of Injury: 2/9/23 TID:

Earns $10.00/hour

Schedule: Averages 18 hours/week PPD:
Gross: $9,360

Weeks worked in year before injury: 52
Employee self-restricts

DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

15



Part-time Exercise 1

Claimant'sage: 58

Date of Hire: 8/20/18 AWW: _$180.00
Date of Injury: 2/9/23 D 180.00
Earns $10.00/hour : -$180.00
Schedule: Averages 18 hours/week .

Gross: $9,360 PPD: 266.67
Weeks worked in year before injury: 52

Employee self-restricts
AWW = TTD due to self-restriction

DWD. WISCONSIN.GOV
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Part-time Exercise 2

Claimant'sage: 42 AWW:
Date of Hire: 4/30/19
Date of Injury: 1/20/23 TID:

Earns $20.00/hour

Schedule: Averages 24 hours/week PPD:
Gross: $30,680

Weeks worked in year before injury: 52
Employee self-restricts

DWD WISCONSIN.GOV

Part-time Exercise 2

Claimant'sage: 42 AWW: 5800.00
Date of Hire: 4/30/19
Date of Injury: 1/20/23 TID: 5533 33

Earns $20.00/hour
Schedule: Averages 24 hours/week PPD: _$430.00
Gross: $30,680

Weeks worked in year before injury: 52
(continued on next slide)

DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV
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Part-time Exercise 2 (cont.)

Earns $20.00/hour AWW: 5800.00
Schedule: Averages 24 hours/week

Gross: $30,680 TID: 5533 33
Weeks worked in year before injury: ’ *

52

Employee self-restricts PPD: 430.00

Cannot restrict since $30,680
divided by 52 is $590, which is higher
than TTD rate

SCONSIN.GOV

Questions?

KEITH KINION (A-N)
(608) 266-3264
keithc kinion@dwd.wisconsin.gov

STEVEN McKINNEY (O-Z)
(608) 261-4406
steven.mckinney@dwd.wisconsin.gov
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