

1

Overview

- · Wisconsin statutes relating to wage
- Calculating wages
- Temporary total disability (TTD) and permanent partial disability (PPD)
- Part-time employees
- Temporary partial disability (TPD)
- Exceptional basis of pay
- Add-ons



DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

2

Where Do These Wage Rules Come From?

- Almost all wage "rules" are derived from Wisconsin statute 102.11.
- WKC-13A is the required form that asks for the information needed to calculate the wage based on these rules.
- To avoid a surcharge, WKC-13A must be filed within 60 days of the first WKC-13. If an "expect by" date is given, this deadline can be pushed back 90 days.



DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

SE	ECTION 1. PAY INFORMATION		
	The Claimant Is Paid Solely By Commission, Mileage, Or Some Other Method, Where S re Not Used, Skip Question 1 In Section 1 And Go On To Answer Any Of Questions 2 Th	rough 6 That May Apply.	
1.	Note: One Of The Following May Also Apply		
	Pay Included Tips: Base Hourly Rates Average Tips Per Week:		
3.	Paid By Piece Rate: Enter The Total Hours Worked And Wages Earned In The 52 Week Period Prior To The Injury (Excluding Overtime Hours).		-
	Hours: Wares:		
4.	Wages included Differential: If The Claimant's Hourly Wages Included Differential Per Hour At The		
5.	A. Exceptional Basis Of Pay For Special Types Of Employment:		
	B. Basis of Pay/Wage Comments:		
6.	If The Claimant's Occupation is Seasonal,		
se	Enter Number Of Weeks In The Season (Whole Number): ECTION 2. GROSS WAGES		
1.	Gross Taxable Wages in A 52 Week Period Prior To Week Of Injury: Exclude Week Of Injury And Tips: Include Annual Commission, Overtime, And Bonuses.		
2.	 Number Of Weeks Worked In 52 Week Period Prior To Week Of Injury: Exclude Week Of Injury In The Number Of Weeks. 		
3.	. Date of Hire (mm/dd/yyyy):		
(CO)		DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV	
	SECTION 3. ADDITIONS TO CASH WAGE 1. Free Meals: Enter Humber Of Meals Per Week. 2. Dally Room: Enter Number Of Days Per Week. 3. Other Additions To Cash Wage: 4. Enter Description of Item (e.g., Fuel, Electricity, etc.): 5. Enter Weekly Value Amount: 4. Did Calmant Continue Receive Additions To Cash Wage During SECTION 4. SCHEDULED HOURS AND OVERTIME INFORMATION 1. Normal Full Time Hours Scheduled By The Employer For This Typ 1. If Employer Scheduled Claimant To Work On Regular Alternating Enter The Number Of Hours For The Regular Alternating Full Time Alternating Schedule Week Tow: Alternating Schedule Week Tow: Time and A Half Pyr; If The Employer Flat Time And A Half, The Employer Paid Towns And Before Time And A Half, 5. Outher Time Pay; If The Employer Paid Double Time, Enter The Number Of Hours Worked Before Double Time Was 5. Was Claimant Schedule dra Work Full Time In This Job Each Weel Yes, Part Of Class Information Completed in Section Swill 1805.	e Of Work: Weekly Basis, Schedule: //as Pald: Pald: Yas % Yas % No	
	If No, Complete Part Of Class Information In Section 5 Below.		
GO		DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV	
5			
			_
	SECTION 5. PART TIME EMPLOYEES: PART OF CLASS AND SELF RESTRICTION Answers To Questions 1 Through 4 Must Be Entered For Part Time Employ Part Time Scheduled Hours. Please Complete Only One Of A, B, C O	ees	
	A. Number Of Hours The Claimant Was Normally Scheduled To Work	Each Week:	
	B. Range Of Hours Scheduled Each Week (Cannot Be More Than A 5 Low Range:	nour variance):	
	High Range: C. Number Of Hours For The Regular Alternating Part Time Schedule		
	Alternating Schedule Week One: Alternating Schedule Week Two:		
	Claimant's Scheduled Hours Varied By More Than 5 Hours: Number Of Part Time Employees, Excluding The Claimant,	□ Yes	
	Doing The Same Work As The Claimant And Scheduled For The Same Number Of Hours And Same Number Of Days Per Week A	The Claimant:	
	3. Number Of Full Time Employees Doing The Same Type Of Work As 4. Did The Claimant Restrict His/Her Availability For Work To Part Tim	he Claimant:	
	 Did The Claimant Restrict His/Her Availability For Work To Part Tim SECTION 6. INSURER CONTACT INFORMATION 	U Tes ⊎ No	
	1. Insurer Contact Name:		
1	Insurer Contact Phone: Insurer Contact Email:		
	Help Submit Reset		
000			
		DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV	

	Calculating A	verage	Weekly Wage		
_ Av	verage Weekly Wage				
	Hourly Rate	Х	Hours per Week		
	Gross Earnings	OR ÷	Weeks Worked		
© ©(1	3		DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV		
	Н	ourly Ra	te		
	Hourly Rate entered st was earning at the tim		rate the employee	 	
			weekly, monthly, salary)		
	•				
•	Include shift differentic pays for working night employee was earning	s & weekend	ds) in hourly rate if		
•	pays for working night	s & weekend g it at time o Tleast minim	ds) in hourly rate if if injury. um wage.		

Hours Per Week

- Number of hours the employee is regularly scheduled each week.
- Full-time workers are assumed to be working 40 hours per week.



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

Gross Earnings

- Total gross taxable earnings the claimant earned in the 52-week period immediately prior to the week of injury.
- Do not include earnings from week of injury unless claimant was injured on a Friday or Saturday - then it can be included.
- Include any bonuses.



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

10

Gross Earnings (cont.)

<u>Do not include</u> in gross earnings:

- o Any weeks where the claimant has disability earnings, FMLA, Temporary Total Disability (TTD), or Temporary Partial Disability (TPD) from a previous claim;
- o Tips (added in separately); or
- o Non-taxable earnings (reimbursements, per diem, etc.)



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

11

Weeks Worked

- Total number of weeks worked in the 52 weeks prior to the week of injury.
- Weeks start on Sunday, end on Saturday.
- A week should be counted if any part of a week was worked (except the week of injury).
- Hours paid in lieu of work, such as vacation, holiday, or personal time, should be included as "worked."



DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

Less Than Six Weeks

- If an employee has worked less than six (6) weeks, gross earnings cannot be used to determine average weekly wage (AWW).
- AWW will only be based on the Hourly Rate x Hours per Week.



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

13

Overtime

- Overtime should be paid at time and a half to employees if they have worked more than 40 hours in one week.
- Overtime should only be included in 'Hours Per Week' if they regularly work that schedule.
- If random amounts of overtime are worked each week, overtime would NOT be included in 'Hours Per Week,' but all overtime earnings would still be included in 'Gross Earnings.'



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

14

Overtime (cont.)

The 'Hourly Rate x Hours Worked' equation turns into:

(Hourly Rate x Regular Hours Worked)

(OT Rate x OT Hours Worked)



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

Alternating Schedule

- If the claimant works an alternating schedule every two weeks (with no overtime either week), the hours per week entered would be the average of the two weeks.
- If the claimant works an alternating schedule with overtime, the regular hours would be averaged separately from the overtime hours.



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

16

TTD and PPD Rates

- Temporary Total Disability (TTD) and Permanent Partial Disability (PPD) rates will be set at 2/3 of the AWW until it gets to the max rate.
- If the claimant is younger than 27 years old, PPD will automatically be set to max rate.



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

17

Maximum TTD and PPD Rates

	1/1/21 - 12/31/21	1/1/22 - 4/9/22	4/10/22 - 12/31/22
AWW	\$1641.00	\$1738.50	\$1738.50
TTD	\$1094.00	\$1159.00	\$1159.00
PPD	\$362.00	\$362.00	\$415.00

• After 1/1/23, AWW and TTD to be determined, PPD increase to \$430.00



DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

Escalation

If there is a renewed period of TTD or TPD two or more years after the original period of disability ended, the TTD rate used will be escalated in proportion to the current max rate.

Example:

	ΠD	Max TTD	Percent
2014	\$446	\$892	50%
2021	\$547	\$1094	50%

- In 2014, claimant's TTD rate was $\underline{\$446}$, or 50% of the 2014 maximum TTD rate of \$892.
- In 2021, claimant resumed TTD for the same claim. His TTD rate was escalated to 50% of 2021 maximum TTD rate of \$1094, or <u>\$547</u>.



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

19

Wage Investigation

- About 30% of WKC-13As (roughly 8,000 claims per year) filed will be put into "Wage Investigation."
- Of that 30%, about half will stay the same.
- Don't panic: we will let you know if we need more information.
- Once a claim is in Wage Investigation, only we can take it out of investigation. Submitting more WKC-13As will not change that.



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

20

Request for Week-by-Week Wages

INJURY DATE: EMPLOYEE: EMPLOYER: 9999-999999 IF YOU CALL OR WRITE US 01/01/98 PLEASE USE WC CLAIM NO. SIMPLES-SAMPLER, TESTER SAMPLE

We received wage information that indicates the average weekly wage used for computing the TTDIPPD rate(s) may be incorrect. Please submit the following information for verification of the correct average weekly wage:

- A week-by-week listing of gross taxable earnings for the 52-week period starting immediately prior to the week in which the injury occurred. Include earnings for overtime, bonuses, incentive or performance pay, commissions and all other taxat earnings excluding fins.
- If the employee received tips, send a week-by-week list of the tips reported.
- If the employee worked for this employer less than 52 weeks prior to the week of injury, list earnings from the date of hire.

If you do not reply to this request for wage information within 30 days we may assess a surcharge of \$100 in accordance with s.102.35(1), Wis. Stats.

If you have questions or need help please contact us by calling (808) 288-1340 and then ask for a wage analyst.

Thank you for your assistance in assuring correct compensation payments



DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

Why Would We Request This?

- The number of weeks worked entered on the WKC-13A is impossible based on Date of Hire and Date of Injury.
- The quarterly gross earnings the employer reported to UI is significantly different than what was reported on the WKC-13A.
- Something just doesn't look right:
 - o Gross is very high or low
 - $_{\mbox{\scriptsize o}}$ Weeks are very high or low
 - o No tips reported for a job that typically gets tips



22

Exercise 1

Start Week	End Week	Gross	Hours Worked
3/24/2019	3/30/2019	\$516	42
3/17/2019	3/23/2019	\$480	40
3/10/2019	3/16/2019		
3/3/2019	3/9/2019	\$312	26
2/24/2019	3/2/2019	\$456	38
2/17/2019	2/23/2019	\$474	39.5
2/10/2019	2/16/2019	\$480	40
2/3/2019	2/9/2019	\$468	39
1/27/2019	2/2/2019		

Date Hired: Monday, 2/2/19 Date Injured: Wednesday, 3/6/19 Age: 22

Earning \$12.00/hour at time of injury Works full time

AWW: _

TTD: _ PPD:

23

©

Exercise 1

Start Week	End Week	Gross	Hours Worked
3/24/2019	3/30/2019	\$516	42
3/17/2019	3/23/2019	\$480	40
3/10/2019	3/16/2019		
3/3/2019	3/9/2019	\$312	26
2/24/2019	3/2/2019	\$456	38
2/17/2019	2/23/2019	\$474	39.5
2/10/2019	2/16/2019	\$480	40
2/3/2019	2/9/2019	\$468	39
1/27/2019	2/2/2019		

Date Hired: Monday, 2/2/19 Date Injured: Wednesday, 3/6/19 **Age**: 22

Earning \$12.00/hour at time of injury Works full time

AWW: \$480 TTD: <u>\$320</u>

PPD: \$362 (maximum statutory rate for date of injury)

CO

Exercise 2

Claimant's age: 30Date of Hire: 6/9/16

AWW: _____

Date of Injury: 4/6/20Earns \$22.00/hour

TTD: _____

• Schedule: 45 hours/week

• Overtime paid after 40 hours/week

PPD: _____

• Gross: \$50,470

• Weeks worked in year before injury: 49

©©®

DWD WISCONSIN GOV

25

Exercise 2

Claimant's age: 30Date of Hire: 6/9/16

AWW: <u>\$1045</u>

• Date of Injury: 4/6/20

TTD: <u>\$696.67</u>

• Earns \$22.00/hour

dula: 45 haurs (wools

• Schedule: 45 hours/week

Overtime paid after 40 hours/week
 PPD: \$362

• Gross: \$50,470

• Weeks worked in year before injury: 49



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

26





28

Everyone Gets Paid Full-time

- 102.11(1)(a)3: "The average weekly earnings shall be arrived at by multiplying the employee's hourly earnings by the hours in the normal full-time work week as established by the employer."
- Labor & Industry Review Commission (LIRC): Prior to 4/10/22, "The general rule is that part-time hours are expanded to full-time hours for that employment for purposes of determining the statutory average weekly wage."



DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

29

Except...

- Members of a class of regularly scheduled employees
- Employees who self-restrict to part-time work on the labor market
- As of 4/10/22: Wage expansion for part-time employees is limited to part-time employees who are employed by another employer or who have been employed part-time less than 12 months before the injury. (Repeal of s. 102.11 (1)(am) and (f)1 and creation of s. 102.11(1)(ap))



DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

Part of Class

- "A regularly-scheduled class of part-time employees"
- Four requirements to be "part of class"
 - Member of a class of employees doing the same type of work at the same location;
 - 10% of workforce doing the same type of work are members of this regularly-scheduled class;
 - 3. Must have more than one employee; and
 - 4. Keep a regular schedule minimum and maximum hours over 13 weeks do not vary by more than five (5).



DWD WISCONSIN GOV

31

Example

- Company has 200 total employees.
- For this company to have a class of regularly-scheduled part-time employees:
 - $_{\odot}$ At least 20 (10%) of their employees would need to be doing the same job, and
 - $_{\circ}\,\mbox{All}$ work the same number of scheduled hours each week.



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

32

Send a list (or punch detail) of the number of hours the claimant worked during each of the 13 weeks prior to the week of injury. Hours paid in lieu of work, such as vacation, holiday, or personal time, should be included. Do not send earnings in lieu of hours.

For full time employees, attach the weekly list of hours or the punch detail to this letter and return.

For part time employees, if you are conceding an expansion to full time, you may either:

Check here \square and return this letter or,

Use the email reply feature on the Insurer's Pending Report system to inform us that you are conceding an expansion to full time. https://dwd.wisconsin.gov/wc/insurance/pending-rpts.htm

If the employee is part time and you are not conceding an expansion to full time, attach the weekly list of hours or the punch detail to this letter and return.

The list of hours or punch detail cannot be sent via the pending report but can be sent to the Fax Imaging Server at 608-260-2503.

If we do not receive a reply within 30 days, we will assume that the part time employee did not work a regular schedule as defined by s. 102.11(1)(am) 2 Wis. Stats.

Department of Workforce Development Worker's Compensation Division



DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

Exercise 3: Is This a Regular Schedule?

- Week 1 25 hours
- Week 2 25 hours
- Week 3 20 hours
- Week 4 25 hours
- Week 5 25 hours
- Week 6 26 hours
- Week 7 25 hours
- Week 8 25 hours



34

Exercise 3: Is This a Regular Schedule?

- Week 1 25 hours
- Week 2 25 hours
- Week 3 20 hours
- Week 4 25 hours
- Week 5 25 hours
- Week 6 26 hours
- Week 7 25 hours
- Week 8 25 hours
- Minimum: 20
- Maximum: 26
- <u>NOT a regular</u> <u>schedule</u>, so not a part of class.

©

35

Exercise 4: Is This a Regular Schedule?

- Week 1 19 hours
- Week 2 20 hours
- Week 3 21 hours
- Week 4 22 hours
- Week 5 23 hours
- Week 6 24 hours Week 7 – 25 hours

	1
\sim	1 1 2 1

Exercise 4: Is This a Regular Schedule?

- Week 1 19 hours
- Week 2 20 hours
- Week 3 21 hours
- Week 4 22 hours
- Week 5 23 hours
- Week 6 24 hours
- Week 7 25 hours
- Minimum: 19
- Maximum: 25
- <u>NOT a regular</u> <u>schedule</u>, so not a part of class.



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

37

Exercise 5: Is This a Regular Schedule?

This is a biweekly schedule!

- Period 1 70 hours
- Period 2 66 hours
- Period 3 72 hours
- Period 4 64 hours
- Period 5 72 hours
- Period 6 68 hours



DWD.WISCONSIN.GO\

38

Exercise 5: Is This a Regular Schedule?

This is a biweekly schedule!

- Period 1 70 hours
- Period 2 66 hours
- Period 3 72 hours
- Period 4 64 hours
- Period 5 72 hours
- Period 6 68 hours
- Minimum: 64
- Maximum: 72
- For biweekly pay periods, we look for a variance of more than 10 hours.
- This is a regular schedule.
 Pending other requirements, may be a part of class.



DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

Expansion (prior to 4/10/22)

- · Part of class
 - $_{\odot}$ Expanded to 24 hours $\underline{\text{or}}$ regularly scheduled hours
 - o Whichever is greater
- If not a part of class, hours are expanded to full-time (presumed 40 hours for most workers)
- Gross earnings always apply if average actual earnings are higher than hourly rate x scheduled hours



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

40

Self-restriction

- Way to reduce expanded hours to average actual earnings or to regularly scheduled hours
- · Voluntary for employee to fill out
- Restrictions and exceptions on when it can be applied
- Only applies to temporary disability benefits (<u>not</u> PPD)



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

41

Self-restriction (cont.)

- Employees who restrict themselves to part-time work on the <u>labor market</u> are eligible to have restricted claims
- Must voluntarily restrict to part-time work at the time of injury
- Must be signed by employee (or legal guardian)
- Restricted rate is paid at 100% of regular schedule or average actual earnings, whichever is higher
- · Can only be applied by a wage analyst



DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

	TEST INSURER 2 C/O TEST INSURER 123 JENNIFER ST MADISON WI 5370	-					
	WC CLAIM NO: INJURY DATE: EMPLOYEE: EMPLOYER: INSURER NO:	9999-99999 01/01/98 SIMPLES-SAMPLER, TESTER SAMPLE SAMPLE EMPLOYER	JF YOU CALL OR WRITE US PLEASE USE WC CLAIM NO.				
		ne of the injury the employee restricted	n benefits at 100% of the employee's actual wage. This is his or her availability to part-time work and was not				
	However, you did not include the required self-restriction statement from the employee. Please send us a self-restriction statement immediately.						
	the weekly rate to		e that the employee did not self-restrict, and we will increase ours of work (if the employee was part of a class at the time of lly 40 hours).				
(CO		DWD.WISCONSIN.GO				
_							

43

EM	IPLOYEF NAME:	_
	PLOYEE S.S.#*:	
5.0000	TE OF INJURY:	
Plea	is form is needed to properly compute the wage for your Worker's Compensation benefits. sase answer the following questions, sign, date and return to your insurance carrier or self-insured ployer.	
12	At the time of your injury, did you limit your availability in the labor market to part-time work or to work only with the employer where you were injured? Yes No	
	If yes, explain your limitation:	
2.	At the time of your injury, were you also employed by another employer or self-employed? Yes \[\] No	
	If Yes, please provide us with the name and address of your other employer below:	
	Employer Name:	
	Employer Address:	
Si	SignedPhone Number: (
D	Dated	
000		
	DWD.WISCONSIN.GC	V

44

Self-restriction Eligibility

- Cannot have two jobs
- If no regular schedule, must have worked at least six (6) full weeks
- TTD rate cannot exceed what it would be if hours were expanded to full time
 - \circ Recent part-time workers, or those who keep high number of hours, may not be eligible
 - \circ If you receive an error that an employee cannot restrict, this is usually why
- Self-restriction does not affect the PPD rate. PPD will be calculated based on a non-restricted AWW.



DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

Self-restriction Eligibility (cont.)

Example 1: Employee as Part of Class

- AWW: \$240
- TTD: \$160
- PPD: \$160
- Earned \$9,360 in 52 weeks
- Employee keeps a regular schedule of 18 hours per week
- Earns \$10.00 per hour
- Employee is part of a class, so earnings are expanded to \$240 per week
- Cannot self-restrict: 100% of \$180 (18 hours x \$10.00/hour) is more than 2/3 of \$240 (\$160)



46

Self-restriction Eligibility (cont.)

Example 2: Employee Not Part of Class

- AWW: \$400 (presumption)
- TTD: \$180
- PPD: \$266.67
- Earned \$9,360 in 52 weeks
- Employee keeps a regular schedule of 18 hours per week
- Earns \$10.00 per hour
- Employee is NOT part of a class, so earnings expansion to full time
- · Can self-restrict



47

Self-restriction Eligibility (cont.)

Example 3: Employee Not Part of Class; Irregular Schedule

- AWW: \$650
- TTD: \$433.33
- PPD: \$362
- \$16.25 per hour
- · No regular schedule
- Earned \$26,000 in 52 weeks
- Cannot restrict since \$26,000 divided by 52 is \$500 and is higher than TTD rate



Self-restriction Eligibility (cont.)

Cannot accept self-restriction forms that:

- Reference the injury as a reason o "Doctor said I couldn't work full time"
- Reference not being able to find full time work "Employer only had part-time work available"
- Aren't signed by the employee (or legal guardian)
- Are coercive or misleading

 Must give an option to select yes or no
 Cannot imply stoppage of benefits if not filled out



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

49

Calculating Wage: Temporary Partial Disability

Wage loss for Temporary Partial Disability (TPD) is calculated **differently** from wage loss for Temporary Total Disability (TTD).



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

50

Calculating Wage: Temporary Partial Disability

- TPD for a temporary period of time, the injured worker is earning less than before the injury
 - Temporary because injured worker has not reached end of healing
- Doctor has issued temporary restrictions that employer can accommodate, but injured worker is either:
 - o Working fewer hours, and/or
 - o Working a job that pays less than their pre-injury job.



DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

Calculating Wage: Temporary Partial Disability

- When AWW is based on expanded hours, the TPD wage is used to calculate actual wage loss
- Use actual average weekly wages <u>or</u> regular schedule x hourly rate at time of injury, whichever is higher
- TTD rate remains two-thirds of expanded AWW
- Only part-time claims with expanded hours will have a TPD wage that is different from AWW



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

52

TPD Based on Actual Earnings

- Warehouse worker more than 27 years old
- \$12.00 per hour part time worker
- · Variable schedule
- \$3,000 earned in 10 weeks
- Regular full-time employees work 40 hours



DWD.WISCONSIN.GO\

53

TPD Based on Actual Earnings

• AWW: \$480

• TTD rate: \$320

• PPD rate: \$320

- TPD wage is based on earnings of \$3,000 earned over 10 weeks
- TPD wage: \$300



DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

TPD with Regular Schedule

- Warehouse worker more than 27 years old
- \$12.00 per hour
- Regular schedule of 30 hours per week
- No other part-time workers
- \$3,000 earned in 10 weeks
- Regular full-time employees work 40 hours



DWD WISCONSIN GOV

55

TPD with Regular Schedule

• AWW: \$480

• TTD rate: \$320

• PPD rate: \$320

- TPD wage is based on \$12.00 per hour x regular schedule of 30 hours
- TPD wage: \$360



DWD.WISCONSIN.GO\

56



STRETCH BREAK TIME!

Stand up and move around! (return in 5 minutes, please)



DWD.WISCONSIN.GO\

58



59

Exceptional Basis of Pay

- These are specific careers that may have particular rules that calculate their average weekly wage (AWW) differently from other jobs.
- On the WKC-13A, select the "Exceptional Basis of Pay" option from the drop-down box in Section 1, Number 5.

©

DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

All the "Exceptional" Categories

Coach - Only	Newspaper Carrier - PT	School Bus Driver - PT
Commission Only – FT	Other	School Crossing Guard - PT
Commission Only – PT	Paid By The Mile - FT	Sheltered Employee - PT
Flight Attendant - PT	Paid by The Mile - PT	Sole Proprietor (Business Owners)
K-12 Cafeteria Worker – PT	Prisoner	Taxicab Driver
K-12 Teacher and Coach	Pro & Semi-Pro Athlete	Trucker - Owned Truck
K-12 Teacher Only	Pulp Cutter	Volunteer Fire Fighter/ EMT



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

61

Assuming Part of Class

- Some of these Exceptional Employment options assume an employee is a Part of Class regardless of the number of other employees working there.
- If they do not keep a schedule, though, they will lose their Part of Class status.



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

62

Commission-Only and Paid by the Mile

- These workers have no set rate of pay they are paid on commission or by the mile.
- If they are full time, AWW is based on their gross/weeks worked. Hourly rate x hours would not be considered.
- If they have worked fewer than six (6) weeks (i.e., cannot use gross), send similar wages of a like employee
- If they are part-time, hourly rate is calculated by dividing gross earnings by hours worked.



DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

Teachers/School Workers

- Remember, the number of weeks entered on the WKC-13A is the weeks worked. Teachers typically work 38 weeks.
- · Paychecks do not reflect the number of weeks worked. Teachers can opt to have their contract paid out throughout the school year (38 weeks) or the whole year (52 weeks).





DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

64

Teachers/School Workers

• Depending on how much of the contract has been worked, the gross earnings of teachers who have worked less than a year may not match the earnings shown on their paychecks.

See example on next slide.



65

Teacher Example

TEACHER A

- Contract: \$38,000 for 38 weeks of work
- Paychecks issued over 38 weeks Paychecks issued over 52 weeks (\$1000/week for 38 weeks)
- Injured halfway through school year, fulfilling 50% of contract
- Paychecks show gross of \$19,000

TEACHER B

- · Contract: \$38,000 for 38 weeks of work
- (\$730.77/week for 52 weeks)
- Injured halfway through school year, fulfilling 50% of contract
- Paychecks show gross of \$13,884



Business Owners

- AWW based on Net Profit reported on their taxes for the tax year prior to year of injury.
- Typically reported on either Schedule C or Schedule K-1. We will ask you to provide a copy of this.
- Minimum wage (AWW: \$290) is the lowest we will set their AWW.
- If owners refuse to furnish the proper tax documents, wage will be set to minimum wage.



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

67

Volunteer/Paid On-Call Firefighters and Emergency Rescue Workers

- AWW set to the maximum rate for the year of injury, or we will accept full-time wages from the nearest full-time/ career fire department.
- When submitting WKC-13A, note which fire department you contacted to obtain the full-time wages.
- Refer to <u>Calculating Wage</u> binder for more detailed information on why we handle volunteer rescue worker wages this way.



DWD.WISCONSIN.GO\

68





70

Overview

- Piecework
- Seasonal Employment
- Tips
- Room and Board

CO

DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

71

Piecework

- Any job performed without an hourly rate
- Workers are paid by their production
- Frequently seen in manufacturing and construction
- Can also occur with jobs like dog groomers
- Any job where someone is paid for a task instead of for time worked

©©

DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

Piecework (cont.)

- Piecework pay is converted to an hourly rate based on total earnings and hours worked
- Determine the hourly rate by dividing the total regular earnings within the prior 52-week period by the number of hours worked
- Part-time workers: Keep track of hours actually worked; otherwise, AWW cannot be calculated

	122

DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

73

Seasonal Employment

- Seasonal work is not someone working part-time around the holidays, or most summer jobs when not in school.
- Seasonal employment is work which:
 - $_{\text{0}}\,\text{Can}\,\underline{\text{only}}$ be done at certain times of the year, and
 - $_{\circ}\,\text{Does}$ not cover a period of more than 14 weeks.



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

74

Seasonal Employment (cont.)

 Seasonal employment is usually connected with the canning industry, but is also used for harvesting (cranberries, ice, Christmas trees, apples, etc.)





DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

Seasonal Employment (cont.)

- In seasonal work, the number of hours worked per week can vary wildly, so Division policy is to use 44 hours as an approximation.
- A 44-hour week is used as a reasonable average. Hourly rate x 44 sets the AWW. Gross earnings are not considered at all.



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

76

Additional to Cash Wage - Tips

- Tips are calculated in addition to hourly rate.
- Tips must be reported by either employee or employer and must be taxed to be considered in the AWW.
- When reporting gross earnings on the WKC-13A, do not include tips.



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

77

Tips (cont.)

- Calculate actual tips per week and actual hours worked per week to determine tipped hourly rate.
 - \circ Only count hours where tips were possible if multiple positions were worked.
- Tipped hourly rate is added to base rate earned at the time of injury.
- For cab drivers with no tips reported, Division policy is to add 15% in lieu of tips.



DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

Exercise 6 – Part-time Tips

Week	Start Week	End Week	Hours	Gross	Tips
1	3/17/19	3/23/19	12.3	\$28.66	\$122.61
2	3/10/19	3/16/19	7.5	\$17.48	\$50.26
3	3/3/19	3/9/19	15	\$34.95	\$122.99
4	2/24/19	3/2/19	22	\$51.26	\$177.57
5	2/17/19	2/23/19	19	\$44.27	\$144.21
6	2/10/19	2/16/19	20	\$46.60	\$118.34
7	2/3/19	2/9/19	19.5	\$45.44	\$109.22
8	1/27/19	2/2/19	17	\$39.61	\$134.36
9	1/20/19	1/26/19	22	\$51.26	\$170.41
10	1/13/19	1/19/19	5.7	\$13.28	\$77.23
10			160	\$372.81	\$1227.20

- 27-year-old serverHas a separate full-time job Date of Hire: 1/14/19
- Date of Injury: 3/25/19

Tipped hourly rate: _

Total hourly rate: _ TPD Wage:

AWW: TTD:

PPD:

79

©

Exercise 6 – Part-time Tips

Week	Start Week	End Week	Hours	Gross	Tips
1	3/17/19	3/23/19	12.3	\$28.66	\$122.61
2	3/10/19	3/16/19	7.5	\$17.48	\$50.26
3	3/3/19	3/9/19	15	\$34.95	\$122.99
4	2/24/19	3/2/19	22	\$51.26	\$177.57
5	2/17/19	2/23/19	19	\$44.27	\$144.21
6	2/10/19	2/16/19	20	\$46.60	\$118.34
7	2/3/19	2/9/19	19.5	\$45.44	\$109.22
8	1/27/19	2/2/19	17	\$39.61	\$134.36
9	1/20/19	1/26/19	22	\$51.26	\$170.41
10	1/13/19	1/19/19	5.7	\$13.28	\$77.23
10			160	\$372.81	\$1227.20

- · 27-year-old server
- Has a separate full-time job
 Date of Hire: 1/14/19
- Date of Injury: 3/25/19

Tipped hourly rate: __\$2.33____ Total hourly rate: ___\$10.00___ TPD Wage: _____\$160____ \$400 TTD: \$266.67

©

\$266.67

80

Addition to Cash Wage – Non-cash Payments

- Non-cash wages are not included in calculating the AWW if the benefits are continued.
- If the benefits are not continued, then their equivalent value is effectively added to the gross earnings.
- · For varying payments such as utilities or phone plans, count the actual amount paid over the previous 52-week period.

CO

Addition to Cash Wage - House or Apartment

- Employer to determine value. Check if housing is shared; value of housing is total cost of rent or mortgage payments divided by number of people in the household.
- See if utilities, telephone, etc. are included in the contract for hire. If so:
 - \circ Divide payment (total cost or monthly rate) by number of weeks. Included in Section 3 of WKC-13A.

©

DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

82

Additional Items of Value - Room and Board

- Room and board is set by DWD 272.03 for minimum wage.
- As with other non-cash benefits, does not need to be included in AWW if the benefits are continued.
- Discounted meals are not counted.

©

DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

83



