

1

Initial Screening by WCD

- Automatically screen claims with greater than 13 weeks of Temporary Total Disability (TTD) paid
- Voluntary employment status questionnaire is sent out to determine potential need for vocational rehabilitation
 - $_{\circ}\,\text{Has}$ end of healing (EOH) been reached?
 - ols there a wage loss?
 - $\circ\,\mbox{Are}$ there permanent restrictions or permanent disability?
- Refer injured workers who potentially qualify for voc rehab to DVR



DWD.WISCONSIN.GO\

2

Voc Rehab Steps

For Worker's Compensation Claims



If suitable employment within restrictions and paying at least 90% of AWW is not available, claimant and DVR voc counselor develop Individualized Plan for Employment (IPE).

Worker's Comp insurance adjuster reviews IPE. Benefits paid consistent with accepted plan.



DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

3

Benefits of Retraining for WC Claims

- Tuition, school fees, books
 - o Laptop or other equipment required for program may be covered if determined necessary by IPE
- DVR requires their consumers who participate in retraining to apply for federal student aid (FAFSA)
 - o Grants reduce cost of tuition paid by insurance carrier
 - o Scholarships are awarded to injured worker



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

4

Benefits of Retraining for WC Claims

Mileage and meals are paid at state employee rate:

- Travel for school \$0.51 per mile
- Breakfast: \$9
- Lunch: \$11
- Dinner: \$21

PocketTravelGuide_2_2022.pdf (wi.gov)



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

5

Benefits of Retraining for WC Claims

Maintenance = TTD rate

- Not to exceed 80 weeks, unless WCD determines that additional school is necessary to replace average weekly wage (AWW)
- Permanent Partial Disability (PPD) continues to accrue during breaks from school

Case law: Massachusetts Bonding Insurance Co. v. Industrial Commission. 275 Wis. 505 (1957)



DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

6

Poll Question

Which of the following is <u>not</u> a reason that the Division would approve retraining benefits beyond 80 weeks?

- 1. Prerequisite courses are needed
- 2. Unexpected illness or injury results in dropped courses
- Availability of courses (supported by documentation from school) will not allow timely completion
- 4. Failed coursework





DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

7

Additional Info

- Injured worker can work up to 24 hours per week while participating in retraining without reducing the maintenance benefit.
- Employee can still be eligible for voc rehab benefit, even if declared Permanent Total Disability (PTD).
- If injured worker is residing outside of Wisconsin, they can still participate in vocational retraining by working with a private vocational counselor. Private vocational counselors should contact WCD to be certified for Wisconsin worker's compensation claims.



DWD.WISCONSIN.GOV

8

Questions?

Chelsea Newby
Vocational Retraining Specialist
608-266-5303
ChelseaL.Newby@dwd.wisconsin.gov

Frank Salvi

Vocational Retraining Specialist 608-267-4327

sin.gov Frank.Salvi@dwd.wisconsin.gov

https://dwd.wisconsin.gov/wc/voc rehab



DWD.WISCONSIN.GO

9