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SUMMARY OF AMENDMENTS TO  
WISCONSIN’S UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE  

 
 

In 2013, Governor Scott Walker signed into law three pieces of legislation containing 
substantial amendments to the unemployment insurance (UI) program.  2013 Wisconsin 
Act 20 (the state's 2013-15 budget) contained amendments to seven aspects of the UI 
program.  2013 Wisconsin Act 36 contained twenty-seven amendments to portions of the 
UI program.  Below is a brief summary of these Acts categorized based on the changes 
made to Benefits, Taxes, and Other Changes.  In addition, at the end is a summary of the 
provisions of the work share law, 2013 Wisconsin Act 11.    

 

BENEFIT CHANGES 
 

 Quit Exceptions   
 
2013 Wisconsin Act 20 makes a number of changes with respect to a claimant’s 
eligibility for benefits when he or she voluntarily terminates his or her work. If an 
employee quits a job and the employee’s reason for leaving the job is covered by a 
statutory quit exception, he or she is still eligible for benefits if he or she is otherwise 
qualifies for benefits.  If an employee quits a job and the reason is not covered by one 
of the statutory quit exceptions, the employee is ineligible for benefits until he or she 
requalifies for benefits.  2013 Wisconsin Act 20: 
  

1. Eliminates eight of seventeen previous quit exceptions: 
  
(a) The employee terminated his or her work to accept a recall to work for a 

former employer within 52 weeks after having last worked for that employer. 
(b) The employee maintained a temporary residence near the terminated work; 

the employee maintained a permanent residence in another locality; and the 
employee terminated the work and returned to his or her permanent 
residence because the work available to the employee had been reduced to 
less than 20 hours per week in at least two consecutive weeks. 

(c) The employee left or lost his or her work because the employee reached the 
employer’s compulsory retirement age. 

(d)  The employee terminated part−time work because a loss of other, full−time 
employment made it economically unfeasible for the employee to continue the 
part−time work. 

(e) The employee terminated his or her work with a labor organization if the 
termination caused the employee to lose seniority rights granted under a 
collective bargaining agreement and resulted in the loss of the employee’s 
employment with the employer that is a party to that collective bargaining 
agreement. 

(f) The employee terminated his or her work in a position serving as a part−time 
elected or appointed member of a governmental body or representative of 
employees; the employee was engaged in work for an employer other than 
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the employer in which the employee served as the member or representative; 
and the employee was paid wages in the terminated work constituting not 
more than 5 percent of the employee’s base period wages for purposes of 
entitlement for benefits. 

(g) The employee terminated his or her work in one of two or more concurrently 
held positions, at least one of which was full−time work, if the employee 
terminated his or her work before receiving notice of termination from a 
full−time work position. 

(h) The employee owns or controls an ownership interest in a family corporation 
and the employee’s employment was terminated because of an involuntary 
cessation of the business of the corporation under certain specified 
conditions. 
  

2. Modifies the quit exception that allows benefits when an employee 
quits a new job within the first ten weeks.  The exception is only available 
if the employee could have originally refused to accept employment at the 
new job and still have collected UI benefits as a result of the new job not 
being deemed suitable work.   The modification provides that the claimant 
will only have 30 calendar days after starting the new job to quit, and still be 
eligible for benefits rather than ten weeks.  Wis. Stats. §108.04 (7)(e). 
 

3. Modifies the quit to follow spouse exception.  Currently, an employee 
can quit a job and still be eligible for benefits if the reason for quitting was to 
accompany a spouse who relocated for employment. The bill narrows the 
exception so that it only applies if the employee’s spouse is an active duty 
member of the U.S. Armed Forces who is required to relocate by the Armed 
Forces to a location that it is impracticable for the employee to commute to 
work. Wis. Stats. § 108.04 (7)(t). 
 

4. Consolidates two quit exceptions into one.  The first exception 
consolidated is commonly referred to as the quit-to-take exception.  It 
provides that an employee is eligible for benefits if he or she quits one job to 
accept a new job under certain circumstances:   

 
(a) First, the new job must be employment covered by the UI program;   
(b) Second, the employee needs to have been offered the new job 

before quitting the old job;    
(c) Third, the new job must have certain more favorable conditions; and,    
(d) Finally, the employee must have earned wages of 4 times his or her 

weekly benefit rate with the new employer before 4 weeks have 
elapsed after the week of the quit. 

   
The second exception consolidated is commonly referred to as the quit part-
time.  It provides that an employee who quits a part-time job is eligible for 
benefits if the reason for quitting the part-time job is the loss of full time 
employment and it is economically unfeasible for the employee to continue 
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the part-time work. Two other conditions must be satisfied with respect to this 
quit exception.  First, the employee must work less than 32 hours at the part-
time job.  Second, the employee must be otherwise eligible for benefits as a 
result of the loss of full time employment.   

 
2013 Wisconsin Act 20 combined these two exceptions into one. If an 
employee terminates work to accept covered employment and the new 
employment satisfies any one of the following four conditions with respect to 
the new job compared to the job the employee quit:   
(a) The weekly wages were at least equal;  
(b) The number of hours of work were equal or greater;  
(c) There was an opportunity for significantly longer term work; or,  
(d) Closer to employee’s home.  
It will also apply regardless of whether or not the employee is working at a 
part-time job or whether the claimant earns a certain amount of wages in the 
subsequent work. Wis. Stat. § 108.04 (7)(L).  
 

5. Amends the requalification requirements.  If a claimant quits a job and 
the reason for quitting is not covered by one of the statutory quit exceptions, 
the law provides certain criteria a claimant must satisfy to again be eligible 
for UI benefits. Currently, a claimant must earn 4 times his or her weekly 
benefit rate (WBR) and 4 weeks from the week of the quit must elapse. The 
new law provides that a claimant must solely earn 6 times his or her WBR 
from the week of the quit.  Wis. Stat. §108.04 (7)(a). 

 
Effective date:  
 
The amendments to the quit exceptions first applies with respect to determinations 
issued on or after January 5, 2014. 
 
Primary Statute Amended:  
 
Wisconsin Statute § 108.04 (7).  
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 Misconduct and Substantial Fault 
 

2013 Wisconsin Act 20 creates a two-tier standard for disqualifying claimants from 
receiving UI benefits.  The new law first provides a definition for misconduct and then 
enumerates that misconduct specifically includes, but is not limited to, seven general 
actions by an employee.  The seven examples include that a claimant will be ineligible 
for benefits if the claimant’s discharge resulted from:  
 
1. A violation of an employer’s reasonable written drug and alcohol policy, if the 

claimant had knowledge of the policy and either admitted to the use of alcohol 
or drug or refused to take a test or tested positive in a test administered by the 
employer in accordance with a testing methodology approved by DWD. 

 
2. Theft of an employer’s property or services, theft of currency of any value, 

felonious conduct connected with the claimant’s employment, or intentional or 
negligent conduct by a claimant that causes substantial damage to his or her 
employer’s property. 
 

3. A conviction of a crime or other offense subject to civil forfeiture, while on or off 
duty, if the conviction makes it impossible for the claimant to perform the duties 
that the claimant performs for the employer. 
 

4. One or more threats or acts of harassment, assault, or other physical violence 
instigated by a claimant at the employer’s workplace.   

 
5. Under certain circumstances, absenteeism or excessive tardiness. 

 
6. Unless directed by a claimant’s employer, falsifying the employer’s business 

records. 
 

7. Unless directed by the employer, a willful and deliberate violation of a written 
and uniformly applied standard by a claimant for an employer that is licensed or 
certified by a governmental agency, which standard has been communicated by 
the employer to the claimant and which violation would cause the employer to 
be sanctioned or to have its license or certification suspended by the agency. 

 
In addition, the new law provides that if the claimant’s discharge is due to substantial 
fault a claimant may be disqualified from receiving benefits.  “Substantial fault” 
includes those acts or omissions of an employee over which the employee exercised 
reasonable control and which violate reasonable requirements of the employee’s 
employer.  Substantial fault essentially means that if an employer establishes a 
reasonable job policy to which an employee can conform, failure to conform constitutes 
substantial fault.  Substantial fault does not include:  
 
1. Minor violations of the employer’s rules unless the employee repeats the violation 

after receiving a warning, 
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2. Unintentional mistakes made by the employee, nor 

 
3. Not performing work because the employee lacks skill, ability, or was not supplied 

equipment. 
   

The new law also:  
   
1. Removes the statutory language regarding disqualification for absenteeism or 

tardiness; and,  
 

2. Provides that both the discharge for misconduct and discharge for substantial fault 
provisions have the same seven by fourteen frame work for requalification for 
benefits. However, if the claimant is disqualified from benefits under the substantial 
fault criteria, the wages earned at the job may be used in determining the claimant’s 
eligibility for and amount of benefits should the claimant requalify for benefits.  If the 
claimant requalifies the employer is not charged for any benefit payments, but 
instead these benefits will be charged to the UI balancing account.  

 
Effective Date:  
 
The changes apply with respect to determinations issued on or after January 5, 2014. 
 
Primary Statute Amended:  
 
Wisconsin Statute § 108.04 (5) and (5g).  
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 Work Search - - Temporary Help Companies  
 
2013 Wisconsin Act 20 provides if a claimant’s last employer was a “temporary help 
company”, the claimant must contact that employer weekly for an assignment or  the 
claimant is considered to not have conducted a reasonable search for suitable work.  
The temporary help company must provide written notice of the fact that the claimant 
did not contact the temporary help company to the Department within 10 business days 
after the end of that week. There are three exceptions to this requirement:  
 
1. The claimant has been waived from work search actions by the Department;  

 
2. The temporary help company did not require the claimant to contact it or failed to 

give the claimant written notice of the requirement that the claimant must conduct 
weekly contacts with the temporary help agency seeking assignments; or,   

 
3. There is good cause for the failure of the claimant to contact the temporary help 

company.  
 
If the claimant does contact the temporary help company, the claimant will have 
satisfied one of the required weekly work search actions.    
 
Effective Date:  
 
The temporary help company work search provision applies with respect to 
determinations issued on or after January 5, 2014. 
  
Primary Statute Created:  
 
Wisconsin Statute § 108.04 (2)(i).  
 
 Increasing Claimants’ Weekly Work Search Actions  
 
2013 Wisconsin Act 20 increased the required number of weekly work search actions from 
two to at least four.  The Department is required to promulgate rules for the circumstances 
when a claimant may be required to perform more than four job search actions in a given 
week.  
 
Effective Date:  
 
This amendment first applies to weeks of unemployment beginning after July 7, 2013, 
except that the Department will not require a claimant to conduct more than four work 
search actions in a week until it has promulgated the appropriate rules. 
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Primary Statute Amended:  
 
Wisconsin Statute § 108.04 (2)(a) 3.       
 
  SSDI and UI Payments  
 
2013 Wisconsin Act 36 provides a claimant cannot simultaneously collect both Social 
Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) benefits and UI benefits.    
 
Effective Date:  
 
The Department shall implement the change with respect to SSDI and UI benefits for 
determinations issued on or after January 5, 2014. 
 
Primary Statute Created:  
 
Wisconsin Statute §§ 108.04 (2)(h) and 108.04 (12)(f).  
 
• Requiring Claimant to Create and Protect Security Credentials 
 
2013 Wisconsin Act 36 explicitly provides that a claimant must create security credentials 
to file a claim and ensures that a claimant is held responsible for giving out UI security 
credentials that enable another person to improperly file for benefits on the claimant’s 
behalf.  
 
Effective Date:  
 
The amendment first applies for determinations issued on or after January 5, 2014. 
 
Primary Statute Created:  
 
Wisconsin Statute § 108.04 (2)(g).  
 
 Claimant Fails to Provide Information to the Department  
 
Currently, benefits may be suspended if a claimant does not provide certain requested 
information to the Department pertaining to a claimant’s eligibility for benefits. A claimant 
will only receive these benefits for the week when he or she provides the information to the 
Department, if otherwise qualified to receive benefits. Yet, if the claimant has good cause 
for failing to provide the information, he or she may receive benefits back to the date that 
the Department suspended benefits. 2013 Wisconsin Act 36 enables a claimant to receive 
benefits back to the date the Department suspended benefits without a need to show good 
cause for failing to provide the information.  There are two limitations on the claimant 
receiving the benefits back to the date the Department originally suspended the benefits as 
a result of not providing requested information:  
1. The claimant needs to be otherwise eligible for benefits; and,   
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2.  A claimant only has two years from the time the Department requests the information for 

the claimant to provide it in order to still be eligible to receive the suspended benefits.   
 
The change does not impact a claimant if he or she fails to provide social security numbers 
or provides a false social security number to the Department in filing a claim.  If a claimant 
fails to provide his or her social security number he or she will receive benefits back to the 
date that the Department suspended benefits, if the claimant has good cause for failing to 
provide his or her social security number.   
 
Effective Date:  
 
The amendments first apply with respect to determinations issued on or after January 5, 
2014. 
 
Primary Statute Amended:  
 
Wisconsin Statute § 108.04 (1)(hm).  
 
 Increase Weekly Benefit Amount  
   
2013 Wisconsin Act 36 increases the maximum amount of weekly benefits a UI claimant 
may receive from $363 to $370 and the minimum amount will continue at $54 per week.  
 
Effective Date:  
 
The change with respect to the maximum amount of benefits first applies to benefit 
payments made after January 5, 2014. 
 
Primary Statutes Amended and Created:  
 
Wisconsin Statute §§ 108.05 (1)(q), 108.05 (1)(r), and 108.05 (2)(c).  
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• Amending the Suitable Work Requirement Re-eligibility 
 
In order to be eligible for benefits a claimant must:  
 

(1) Accept suitable work when it is offered. 
(2) Return to work if a former employer recalls the employee within 52 weeks after the 

employee last worked for that employer, unless there is good cause for not 
accepting the work.  

 
Current law provides that if a claimant fails to accept suitable work or the recalled position, 
he or she is ineligible for benefits unless he or she qualifies again for benefits.  If a claimant 
is disqualified for failure to accept suitable work or the recalled position the claimant must 
satisfy two requirements before being eligible again for benefits. The claimant must earn 
wages that are equal to at least four times the employee’s weekly benefit rate (WBR) and 
four weeks need to elapse from when the claimant did not accept the suitable work.   
 
2013 Wisconsin Act 36 changes the requalification requirements to increase the weekly 
benefit rate (WBR) the claimant must earn to six times the claimant’s WBR, but removes 
the requirement that four weeks need to elapse from when the claimant did not accept the 
suitable work. 
 
Effective Date:   
 
The law change first applies to determinations issued on or after January 5, 2014. 
 
Primary Statute Amended:  
 
Wisconsin Statute § 108.04 (8)(a) and (c). 
 
 Cafeteria Benefit Plans 
 
Under current law, the value of a cafeteria plan is included in the employee’s wage base 
but it is not taxed as wages.  2013 Wisconsin Act 36 makes consistent the treatment of 
cafeteria benefit plan payments by not paying benefits on untaxed wages.   
 
Effective Date:   
 
The amendment shall first apply to new claims filed on or after September 29, 2013. 
 
Primary Statute Amended:  
 
Wisconsin Statute § 108.02 (4m).   
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• Prisoners Collecting UI as a Result of Work Release 
 
Some private employers hire prison inmates on work release for work performed outside of 
the prison. 2013 Wisconsin Act 36 classifies prisoners’ work release employment as non-
covered employment for purposes of the UI program.  As a result, these private employers 
will not pay unemployment taxes on the wages paid to the inmates and the inmates will be 
unable to use these wages to collect UI benefits if they are later released from prison and 
unemployed.  This amendment does not impact inmates with Huber privileges being held in 
county jails.  
 
Effective Date:   
 
The change with respect to the treatment of prison inmate wages for UI purposes first 
applies to determinations issued on or after January 5, 2014. 
 
Primary Statute Created:  
 
Wisconsin Statute § 108.02 (15)(kt).   
 
• Random UI Search Audits  
 
2013 Wisconsin Act 36 requires the Department to conduct random audits of claimants’ 
weekly work search efforts.   
 
Effective Date:   
 
The Department shall conduct random audits of claimants’ work search efforts on or after 
January 5, 2014. 
 
Primary Statute Created:  
 
Wisconsin Statute § 108.14 (20) 
 
• Extended Training Benefits  
 
Currently, a claimant may qualify to receive benefits while participating in an extended 
training program under certain conditions including, but not limited to, when he or she has 
exhausted all other UI benefits.  2013 Wisconsin Act 36 repeals the payment of extended 
training benefits.  
 
Effective Date:   
 
The repeal of the payment of extended training benefits first applies for individuals who are 
not qualified for the program as of December 22, 2013. 
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Primary Statute Repealed:  
 
Wisconsin Statute § 108.06 (7).   
 
• Facilitate Claimant’s Reemployment  
  
2013 Wisconsin Act 36 requires UI claimants to provide additional information to the 
Department in order to enhance the Department’s ability to assist claimants to become 
more quickly employed.   
 
Effective Date:   
 
The requirement that claimants provide additional information to the Department became 
effective July 7, 2013. 
 
Primary Statute Created:  
 
Wisconsin Statute §§108.04 (2) (a) 4. and 108.04 (15).    
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TAX CHANGES 
 

• Payment of Interest to the Federal Government  
 
The Federal Unemployment Account loans money for state unemployment programs to 
ensure a continued flow of benefits during economic downturns.  State law provides that 
businesses pay the interest through a Special Assessment for Interest (SAFI).  2013 
Wisconsin Act 20 provides up to $30 million of general purpose revenue (GPR) to pay the 
interest owed by Wisconsin on the federal loan relieving businesses from the SAFI 
assessment. The current projections are that the interest owed to the federal government 
will be $19 million in 2013 and $7 million in 2014.  
 
Effective Date:   
 
This provision became effective on July 1, 2013 and will be repealed on July 1, 2015.   
 
Primary Statute Created:  
 
Wisconsin Statute § 20.445 (1)(fx).  
 
  Interfund Borrowing  
 
Wisconsin employers have not been eligible to claim the maximum amount of 
unemployment tax credits on their federal unemployment (FUTA) tax return because 
Wisconsin has had an outstanding federal UI loan for at least two years.   
 
2013 Wisconsin Act 20 authorizes the Department of Administration to loan GPR money up 
to $50 million to the UI Trust Fund.  The Secretary of DWD shall request the loan whenever 
the Secretary determines that taking the loan may cause employers to experience a lower 
FUTA tax rate. The interest-free loan will be repaid using UI contributions from employers 
in accordance with federal requirements. 2013 Wisconsin Act 20 directs that the timing of 
any repayment must accord with federal requirements for ensuring a favorable tax 
experience for employers.  

 
Effective Date:   
 
The Secretary will have authority to request the interfund borrowing beginning January 1, 
2014. 
 
Primary Statutes Created:  
 
Wisconsin Statute §§ 20.002 (11)(b)3m. and 108.16 (13)  
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• Contribution Financing Tax Rates  
 
Currently, most employers must pay contributions (taxes) to finance UI benefits. The 
amount an employer pays has two components. The first component is an employer’s 
contribution rate, which is generally based on the employer’s experience with respect to the 
UI system.  The second component is an employer’s solvency rate, which ranges from 0.2 
to 1.35 percent of taxable payroll (up to $14,000 per employee per calendar year), based 
on the employee’s experience rate.  
 
The highest contribution rate that must be paid by an employer applies to an overdrawn 
employer with a reserve percentage of negative 6.0 percent or lower.  
 
2013 Wisconsin Act 20 amends each of the four tax schedules contained in Wis. Stats. § 
108.18 (4), so that overdrawn employers with reserve percentages lower than negative 6.0 
percent have higher contribution rates.  The highest contribution rate would increase from 
8.5 to 10.7 percent of taxable payroll. 2013 Wisconsin Act 20 also amends each of the four 
schedules of solvency so that in each of the added contribution rates in each of the four 
schedules the solvency rate is 1.30 percent of taxable payroll. 
 
Effective Date: 
   
The changes on tax rates are effective for payrolls on or after January 1, 2015. 
 
Primary Statute Amended:  
 
Wisconsin Statute § 108.18 (4).  

  
  Online Employer Complaint System 
 
2013 Wisconsin Act 36 requires the Department to request funding from the federal 
government for the Department to develop and maintain an online portal for employers to 
log in and file complaints about the UI program.  
 
Effective Date:   
 
The Department shall request funding from the federal government for the Department to 
develop and maintain the online employer complaint system. The system must be 
operational on or after January 5, 2014.  If the Department does not obtain the funding, the 
Department is still required to create the online employer complaint system. 
 
Primary Statute Created:  
 
Wisconsin Statute § 108.14 (21).  
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• Reporting of Individual Business Reserve Fund Balance  
 
2013 Wisconsin Act 36 requires the Department to clarify and provide definitions to explain 
the financing of the UI system and the operation of an employer’s reserve fund balance. 
The Department shall provide this information to subject employers, post it on the Internet, 
and provide this same information to any employer who becomes newly subject to pay UI 
taxes.  
 
Effective Date:   
 
The Department shall begin to provide the reserve fund balance information to employers 
no later than July 7, 2014. 
 
Primary Statute Created:  
 
Wisconsin Statute § 108.14 (24).  
  
• Lost Licenses  
  
Typically, if a claimant’s employment is suspended or terminated due to losing a license 
required to perform the job, the claimant is ineligible for benefits.  If the claimant’s license is 
reinstated and the employer does not rehire the claimant, the claimant becomes eligible for 
benefits and any benefits paid are charged to the employer’s UI account.  2013 Wisconsin 
Act 36 provides that any resulting benefits will instead be charged to the UI balancing 
account.    
 
Effective Date:   
 
The lost license provision first applies with respect to determinations issued on or after 
January 5, 2014.      
 
Primary Statute Amended:  
 
Wisconsin Statute § 108.04 (1)(f) 
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OTHER CHANGES 
 

• Standardized DWD Handbook for Employers  
 
2013 Wisconsin Act 36 provides the Department shall create and periodically update a 
handbook for employers.  The purpose of the handbook is to inform employers who are or 
may be subject to UI law about the provisions and requirements of the law.  The 
Department will update, modify, and enhance its current employer handbook to ensure that 
it adequately addresses the topics required by the new law. 
 
Effective Date:   
 
The Department shall make available the updated handbook by July 7, 2014. 
 
Primary Statute Created:  
 
Wisconsin Statute § 108.14 (23)   
 
• Department Overpayments  
 
2013 Wisconsin Act 36 clarifies and narrows the situations where the law would classify 
actions as Department error, thereby limiting circumstances when claimants can retain 
erroneous overpayments.   It also authorizes the Department to initiate a legal action to 
recover erroneous overpayments from any person if the overpayment to that person did not 
result from Department error.  Prior to the Department initiating a legal action for recovery 
of erroneous overpayments the claimant must have exhausted all administrative appeal 
rights.  
 
Effective Date:   
 
The amendment to statutory provisions regarding Department error and erroneous 
overpayments first applies with respect to determinations issued on or after January 5, 
2014. 
 
Primary Statutes Amended and Created:  
 
Wisconsin Statute §§ 108.02 (10e) and 108.04 (2)(g) 
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• Financial Record Matching  
 
2013 Wisconsin Act 36 will enable the Department to enter into agreements with financial 
institutions to match UI delinquent debtor files against accounts held at Wisconsin financial 
institutions.  The law provides a more efficient method for the Department to determine if 
someone delinquent in making payments has a bank account that has sufficient assets to 
pay the debt.  2013 Wisconsin Act 36 provides two protections for UI debtors. The 
Department may only:  
 
1. Use the collection tool when the employer or claimant has exhausted all appeal rights to 

contest the debt.  
 

2. Release the information to financial institutions if a warrant has been issued, and the 
debt is public information.  

 
Effective Date:   
 
The Department shall implement the change with respect to financial record matching on or 
after January 1, 2014. 
   
Primary Statute Created:  
 
Wisconsin Statute § 108.223 
 
 Data Sharing with DOT/DMV 
 
2013 Wisconsin Act 36 grants the Department collection tools that are used by other state 
agencies.  The Department may enter into a data sharing agreement with the Department 
of Transportation – Division of Motor Vehicles, to facilitate the sharing of information in 
order to enhance collection of unpaid debts.   
 
Effective Date:   
 
The Department may enter into data sharing agreements on or after January 1, 2014. 
 
Primary Statute Amended:  
 
Wisconsin Statute § 218.31 (1m) 
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 License Suspension for Failure to Pay Taxes 
 
2013 Wisconsin Act 36 grants the authority to suspend licenses of employers who have 
failed to pay their taxes.  The Department shall promulgate rules specifying procedures to 
protect employers from having action taken with respect to their licenses.  
 
Effective Date:  
 
The new law is effective when the Department promulgates rules specifying procedures to 
protect employers from having action taken with respect to their licenses.  
 
Primary Statute Amended: 
 
Wisconsin Statute § 108.227 and various sections of laws that grant individual's licenses.  
 
• Department Acceptance of the Filing of a Late Successorship Application  
 
2013 Wisconsin Act 36 allows the Department to accept a late optional successorship 
application, if the business application being late resulted from excusable neglect.  
Successorship occurs when all or a portion of the former owner's UI account is transferred 
to the new owner due to a transfer of all or a portion of the business.  If a former business 
has a positive unemployment insurance account, a new owner of the business may elect to 
file an optional successorship application with the Department. The change only permits 
the Department to accept an application not more than 90 days after its due date 
regardless of whether there is excusable neglect for the application being late. 
 
Effective Date: 
 
The Department may accept a late optional successorship application with respect to 
transfers of businesses occurring after December 31, 2013. 
 
Primary Statute Amended: 
 
Wisconsin Statute § 108.16 (8)(b)4. 
 
 Interest Owed by Employers 
 
2013 Wisconsin Act 36 grants the Department some flexibility to waive or decrease interest 
owed by employers in limited circumstances.  
 
Effective Date:  
 
The new law is effective when the Department promulgates rules specifying the procedures 
the Department may use to modify employer owed interest.   
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Primary Statute Created: 
 
Wisconsin Statute § 108.22 (1)(cm). 
 
 Fees Imposed for Employers that are Tardy Filing Quarterly Wage Reports  
 
2013 Wisconsin Act 36 amends the amount of tardy filing fees imposed on employers that 
are delinquent in filing their quarterly wage reports. 
 
Effective Date:  
 
The tardy filing fee provisions first applies to quarterly wage reports to be filed for wages 
earned in 2014.  
 
Primary Statute Created: 
 
Wisconsin Statute § 108.22 (1)(a).  
 
 Limited Liability Companies 
 
2013 Wisconsin Act 36 discontinues the treatment of limited liability companies with the 
same members as a single employer.  This change in law is a federal conformity issue.  
 
Effective Date:  
 
The provision impacting limited liability companies with the same members became 
effective July 7, 2013.  
 
Primary Statute Created: 
 
Wisconsin Statute §§ 108.02 (13)(a) and 108.16 (2).   
 
• Technical Corrections to Law Changes from Last Legislative Session 
 
2013 Wisconsin Act 36 makes technical corrections to provisions contained in previous UI 
Acts, 2011 Wisconsin Act  198 and 2011 Wisconsin Act 236  from the last legislative 
session.  This included:   
 
1. The legislature clarified the language with respect to concealment of wages.  The 

amendment to Wisconsin Statutes §§ 108.04 (11)(b) and 108.05 (3)(d) provides that 
claimants who conceal hours worked when filing a claim would be treated similarly to 
those who conceal wages and first applies with respect to weeks of unemployment 
beginning on July 7, 2013.  
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2. The amendment corrects terminology (i.e. ineligibility versus penalty) within Wisconsin 
Statute § 108.04 (11)(bh) and first applies with respect to weeks of unemployment 
beginning on July 7, 2013. 
 

3.  The legislature provided that a claimant who earns $500 or more in a particular week is 
ineligible for benefits.  The list of items enumerated within the statute determined if a 
claimant exceeded the $500 threshold failed to include a number of items that the law 
typically uses in making monetary determinations with respect to a claimant’s eligibility 
for benefits.  The amendment corrects this error by amending Wisconsin Statute § 
108.05 (3)(dm) and first applies with respect to weeks of unemployment beginning on 
January 5, 2014. 

 
4.  The legislature created the penalty and interest fund for the Department to deposit 

penalties collected from claimants, but the fund was scheduled to lapse before the 
Department would be able to collect and use the money.  The amendment provides that 
the repeal of the penalty and interest fund created by Wisconsin Statute §§ 20.445 
(1)(v), 25.17 (1)(xf), and 108.19 (1s) will not lapse until 2034. 

 
• Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) Training 
 
2013 Wisconsin Act 36 requires the Labor and Industry Review Commission (LIRC) to 
maintain and enhance its searchable database of UI cases.  It also requires the 
Department to provide training and continuing education for all ALJs.   
 
Effective Date:   
 
The provisions related to enhancing LIRC’s searchable database of UI cases and training 
and continuing education of ALJs shall be implemented no later than July 7, 2014. 
 
Primary Statute Created:  
 
Wisconsin Statute §108.14 (22) and (25).  
 
 Timing of Required Department Reports  
  
2013 Wisconsin Act 36 alters the dates to submit three reports to the Legislature and the 
Unemployment Insurance Advisory Council (Council). The reports are:  
 

(a) Summary of the Department’s activities related to detection and prosecution of UI 
fraud in the preceding year and is due by March 15, 2014; 

(b) Provide a statement of the UI financial outlook and is next due by April 15, 2015; 
and,   

(c) Summary of the deliberations of the Council and is next due by May 15, 2015.  
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Primary Statute Amended:  
 
Wisconsin Statute § 16.48 (1)(a) and (b); 108.14 (19).   
 
• Standardized Witness Forms  
 
2013 Wisconsin Act 36 requires the Department to create a standardized sworn affidavit 
witness form for employers and claimants.   
 
Effective Date:   
 
The implementation of the Department developed standard sworn affidavit form requires 
that it be incorporated into the administrative rules and, therefore, the implementation date 
shall be when the Department amends its rule to contain the standard affidavit form. 
 
Primary Statute Created:  
 
Wisconsin Statute § 108.14 (26).  
 
• Increase Number of Fraud Workers  
  
2013 Wisconsin Act 36 requires the Department to request funding from the federal 
government to hire additional workers to conduct fraud investigations.   
 
Effective Date:   
 
The Department shall timely request funding from the federal government. If the federal 
government grants the funding, the Department may begin to conduct additional 
investigations on or after January 5, 2014. 
 
Primary Statute Created:  
 
Non-statutory Provision 
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WORK SHARE 
 

2013 Wisconsin Act 11 authorizes a work share program in Wisconsin.  Work share, also 
called short-time compensation, is a special UI program that reduces the impact of a 
business downturn on workers, employers and the government. An employer reduces the 
hours of work for all workers in an affected unit instead of laying-off a portion of the 
workforce. Workers then receive partial UI benefits to help compensate for the lost hours of 
work.  Currently, at least twenty-six states are operating a work share program.  
 
The employer must submit a work share plan to the Department for its approval and the 
employer must certify that the employer will:  
 

 Reduce the number of hours of employees instead of layoffs;  
 Reduce uniformly the employees' work week hours between the range of 10-50%;  
 Provide its normal retirement and health care benefits to employees participating in 

work share program as if the employees were not participating in the work share 
program;  

 Include in the plan the method the employer will use to provide notice to an employee 
whose work week will be reduced, unless this is not feasible;  

 Include in the plan an estimate of the number of layoffs avoided as a result of the work 
share program;  

 Include at least 10% of the employees in the affected work unit within the work share 
program;  

 Provide that at least 20 positions are covered by the work share program on the 
effective date of the program; 

 Do not include employees who are employed on a seasonal, temporary, or intermittent 
basis;  

 Prevent the layoff of at least 2 jobs by implementing the work share program; and,  
 Comply with all applicable state and federal laws.    
 
Other requirements include:  
 

 Employees do not need to be available for work or satisfy normal work search action 
requirements; except the employee must be available by the work share employer to 
address an increase in business demand;  

 Employees may participate, as appropriate, in training to enhance job skills upon 
approval by the Department;  

 A participating employer may only have an affected unit participate up to six months in a 
five year period.   

 
Effective Date:   
 
The work share law shall be implemented no later than December 31, 2013.  
 
Primary Statute Created: 
 
Wisconsin Statute § 108.062.  




