WISCONSIN

Qo0

DWD

Department of Workforce Development

Child Labor Overview
2016

Equal Rights Division

(608) 266-6860 — Madison
(414) 227-4384 — Milwaukee
http://dwd.wisconsin.gov/er

Jim Chiolino
Assistant Administrator
Director, Labor Standards Bureau
jim.chiolino@dwd.wisconsin.gov


http://dwd.wisconsin.gov/er

Child Labor

Work Permit Required (Child Lagbr/Street Trades_,)_-

»|ssued to employer -- not to minor
»Not required in agricultural employment or in domestic service
»To obtain a permit, the minor must bring:

»letter of intent to hire, explaining hours/duties

»birth certificate / Wis. driver’s license

»social security card

»parental consent
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Child Labor

At what age may minors work?

»Generally, must be 14. May work as young as 12 in the following areas:
»Agriculture
» Domestic Service
»School lunch programs
» Caddies on golf courses
»Street Trades

»Working in a business owned by a parent
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Child Labor

Hours and time of day restrictions

»May not work while required to be in school.
» Otherwise, 16- and 17-year-olds are not restricted.

»Under 16 years of age, 3 hours per day on school days; 8 hours
per day on non-school days. 18 hours per week in school year
(Labor Day through May 31); 40 hours per week in summer (June 1
through the Labor Day). Not past 7 pm in school year; not past 9
pm in summer.

»Minors may not work more than 6 consecutive hours without at
least a 30-minute meal period.
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Child Labor

Prohibited Employment

» Generally, type of occupation or piece of machinery is
prohibited -- not an establishment

» Depends upon the age of the minor

» There is a “student learner” exemption that allows
some otherwise prohibited work in certain
circumstances.
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Prohibited / Hazardous Employment

* Work prohibited to ALL minors is listed, alphabetically in
the Administrative Code (Wis. Admin. Code § DWD
270.12). It includes such items as:

e Coal mines

* Hoists & hoisting apparatuses
« Lifeguards

 Meat processing

« Strikes and Lockouts

e Itis important to read each section; there are always
exceptions.
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Prohibited / Hazardous Employment

« Work prohibited to minors under the age of 16 only is
listed, alphabetically at Wis. Admin. Code
8 DWD 270.13. Itincludes such items as:
e Construction
* Hospitals and nursing homes
e Loading and unloading

 Manufacturing, mining, & processing occupations
e Certain sections have exceptions and clarifications.
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Prohibited / Hazardous Employment

Resources:

Guide to Wisconsin’s Child Labor Laws:
http://dwd.wisconsin.gov/dwd/publications/erd/pdf/erd 17231 p.pdf

Manufacturing & Construction Equipment &

Wisconsin’s Child Labor Laws:
http://dwd.wisconsin.gov/dwd/publications/erd/pdf/erd 17607 p.pdf
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Student Learner Exemption

e See Wis. Admin. Code § DWD 270.14(3).
 A'student learner" is a
e student of an accredited school who is
e employed on a part—time basis to obtain
both scholastic credit and
e employment training
e under a bona fide written school-work
training program agreement.
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Student Learner Exemption

A student learner is permitted to do some work that is
otherwise prohibited if the student learner is performing
service within a bona fide school-work training program
« sponsored by an accredited school
e authorized and approved by

* the state department of public instruction,

* the technical college system board, or

* the department's youth apprenticeship program.
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Student Learner Agreement
Must Include:

® Any work prohibited under DWD 270.12- 270.13 is incidental
to student learner’s training, and shall be intermittent and for
short periods of time.

®» The student learner shall be under the direct and close
supervision of a qualified and experienced person.

® That safety instructions will be given by the school and
correlated by the employer with on-time job training.

® A schedule of organized and progressive work processes to be
completed on the job. STATE OF WISCONSIN
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Types of Work That Are Prohibited
Under Student Learner Agreements

Manufacturing of brick, tile and similar products
Coal mining

Explosives

Hoists and hoisting apparatuses (except those
that are allowed to all minors)

_ogging, saw mill, lath mill, shingle mill, or
cooperage stock mil

Motor vehicle driver or outside helper
Radioactive and ionizing radiations substances
Wrecking, demolition and ship breaking
Manufacturing , mining or processing
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Construction

Prohibitions against:

v Operation of cranes, elevators, hoists, high lift trucks,
man lifts or freight elevators;

v Metal —forming, punching and shearing power driven
machinery;

v Operating or helping with power saws and guillotine
shears (except machines with full automatic feed
and ejection):

v' Band saws, chainsaws, circular saws, guillotine
shears, etc...
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Construction

Woodworking :
Cannot operate power driven machines (including supervising or

controlling the operation of), feeding or helping to feed materials
Power-driven woodworking tools = all fixed or portable machines or tools
driven by power and used or designed for cutting, shaping, forming, surfacing,
nailing , stapling, wire stitching, fastening, or otherwise assembling, pressing
or printing or wood veneer.

Roofing- all work performed on or about a roof.

School shop classes v. employment
Child labor laws only regulate employment, not classroom instruction.
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Hoists and Hoisting Apparatuses

 16/17 year old may operate floor jacks , service jacks,
hand jacks drive on lifts, arm lifts, (and some automation
and signal elevators see DWD 270.12(12)) used In
conjunction with repairing or servicing motor vehicles.
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Manufacturing

« Generally, we are looking at the machine involved to
determine if the work is prohibited:

Metal forming and woodworking machinery prohibitions.

The machine must be equipped with automatic feed and ejection,
and with fixed barrier guard to prevent hands and fingers from
entering the dangerous part of the machine operations.

If in doubt, contact the Equal Rights Division regarding specific
machines.
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17 Year Olds May Operate an
Automobile If:

» The driving is only occasional and incidental to the minor’s
employment,

» The driving is restricted to daylight hours,

» The driving takes place within a 30-mile radius of the
minor’s place of employment,

»» The motor vehicle does not exceed 6,000 pounds gross
vehicle weight,

» The minor has completed driver’s education and has a valid
Iicense STATE OF WISCONSIN
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17 Year Olds May Operate an
Automobile If:

» The minor has no records of any moving violations at the
time of hire,

») The vehicle has seatbelts for all occupants, and the
employer has instructed the minor that the belts must be
used when driving and riding,

» The driving does not involve towing of vehicles; route
delivery or sales; transportation for hire of property, goods, or
passengers; urgent time sensitive delivers, transporting more
than 3 passengers who are employees of the employer.
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Minimum Wage

®S7.25 per hour -- General rate (including minors and agriculture)
®S5.90 per hour -- Opportunity rate
“Opportunity employee”
® Under 20 years of age

®In employment status for 90 or fewer consecutive days
with a particular employer
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Breaks

Meal Periods / Coffee Breaks
» Not required (BUT — the employer can require them)

»» Recommended that meal breaks be given at times reasonably
close to normal meal times

» Less than 30 minutes, break must be paid
» 30 minutes or more, break may be unpaid if
» Completely relieved of duty

» Free to leave the premises STATE OF WISCONSIN
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Thank You!

Jim Chiolino
Assistant Division Administrator
Labor Standards Bureau

608.266.3345
jim.chiolino@dwd.wisconsin.gov

www.dwd.wisconsin.gov
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