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WC CLAIM NO: 9999-999999 IF YOU CALL OR WRITE US
INJURY DATE: 05/01/98 PLEASE USE WC CLAIM NO.
EMPLOYEE: SIMPLE, SAMPLE 
EMPLOYER: SAMPLE EMPLOYER INC 
INSURER NO: 094CBD6S8646

Your report on the first payment of compensation indicates that the first payment was made more
than 14 days after the injury.  The Worker’s Compensation law provides that, where there is an
inexcusable delay, a ten (10) percent penalty is due.

Please respond, in writing, regarding the reason for the delay in payment.  Your response is due
within 30 days and should include the WC claim number.

If you decide to pay the penalty, please make payment of to the employee and provide us with
proof of payment.  In the event you disagree with this assessment, you must provide the written
explanation requested above.

Failure to respond timely to this letter with an explanation for the delay or proof of payment will
result in the issuance of an order of default, without hearing or further notice, requiring payment of
the penalty for the delay and any other amounts due.  A default order may also be issued without
hearing or further notice, if the explanation provided is inadequate as a matter of law.  An order
issued in this matter, when final, may be reduced to judgment in court.

Your prompt attention to this matter is appreciated.

Sincerely,

Department of Workforce Development
Worker’s Compensation Division

WKC-80 (R. 04/2002) WC80

State of Wisconsin
Department of Workforce Development

Jim Doyle
Governor

Roberta Gassman
Secretary

Frances Huntley-Cooper
Division Administrator

WORKER’S COMPENSATION
201 East Washington Avenue

P.O. Box 7901
Madison, WI 53707-7901

Telephone:  (608) 266-1340
  Imaging Server Fax:  (608) 260-2503

Fax:  (608) 267-0394
http://www.dwd.state.wi.us/wc/

e-mail:  dwddwc@dwd.state.wi.us

October 6, 2003
TEST INSURER 1 
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