Electronic Payment Options for Employers
Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT)
The Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development (DWD) accepts Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) for payment of Unemployment Insurance (UI) Taxes. Please read the information below regarding the various EFT payment options. If you still have further questions please call UI at (608) 266-5793 or email UI General Accounting staff.
The EFT payment options available are the Automated Clearing House (ACH) Debit and Credit.
Click on an underlined topic below for specific information about EFT payments.
- EFT ACH Debit Payments
- Blocking Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) payments from coming out of your bank account
- Frequently Asked Questions About EFT ACH Debit Payments
- EFT ACH Credit Payments
- EFT ACH Credit Instructions for Financial Institutions
Credit Card Payments
UI does not accept Credit Card Payments at this time.
UI does not accept Wire Transfer Payments at this time.
If you have further questions please call UI at (608) 266-5793.
Payment Plan for Delinquent UI Tax
If you are interested in setting up a payment plan for the delinquent tax on your UI account, you can either call and speak to one of our collectors at (608) 266-9700 or email UI Collections staff.
Electronic Payments Required for some employers
2007 Wisconsin Act 59 requires employers with a tax liability of at least $10,000 in the previous fiscal year to make all UI tax payments using Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) beginning the following January. This law change takes effect with tax payments made on or after January 1, 2009. Once employers initially become subject to this requirement, they must continue paying by EFT.
For employers with a tax liability of at least $10,000 in the previous fiscal year:
- If you currently use EFT to pay your unemployment taxes, you must continue to pay electronically.
- If you do not currently use EFT, all tax payments made on or after January 1, 2009, must be submitted by EFT.
- If an employer service provider submits your payments, please inform the provider of these new payment requirements.
The new law provides penalties for non-compliance with the EFT payment requirements. Employers who do not pay electronically when required to do so will be assessed a penalty equal to $50 or 1/2 of 1% of the amount due, whichever is greater.