Department of Workforce Development
Worker’s Compensation Division
201 E. Washington Ave., Rm. C100

REASONABLENESS OF FEE P.0. Box 7901
DISPUTE RESOLUTION REQUEST Telame (600) 2646619

Fax: (608) 267-0394
http://dwd.wisconsin.gov/wc

Direct all inquiries to: Medical Cost Dispute Unit and mail to the e-mail: DWDDWC@dwd.wisconsin.gov
address above or telephone (608) 264-6819.

Please read the following information carefully before filling out this form.

1.
2.

This form should be used ONLY for fee disputes related to treatment provided on or after July 1, 1992.

Once a health care provider has been notified that the fee for treatment is in dispute, the provider may not collect or bring an
action for collection of the disputed fee against the person who received the treatment, (102.16(2)(b), Stats.).

Generally, in denying payment, the insurer or self-insurer will use a database certified by the Department of Workforce
Development to determine the “formula amount.” The formula amount for health care services provided on and after April 17,
2012 is the arithmetic mean of all fees in the database, plus 1.2 standard deviations from the mean, in a particular region of the
state, for a specific CPT code. For health care services provided from March 30, 2004 through April 16, 2012 the formula
amount is the arithmetic mean, plus 1.4 standard deviations from the mean. If the fee is less than the formula amount shown in
the certified database for that procedure, the fee is presumed to be reasonable. If the fee is more than the formula amount, the
insurer or self-insurer must pay only for the formula amount unless the provider demonstrates that the service provided in this
case was more difficult or more complicated to provide than in the usual case.

In denying payment, the insurer or self-insurer must also specify, among other things:

A. The CPT code (or other code from a certified data base) in dispute;
B. The formula amount for the coded procedure and the certified data base from which that formula amount was obtained;
C. The steps a provider must take prior to submitting this dispute to the department.

Provision of the Social Security Number (SSN) is voluntary. Failure to provide it may result in an information processing delay.

Personal information you provide may be used for secondary purposes [Privacy Law, s. 15.04 (1)(m), Wisconsin Statutes].

SECTION 1. DATES OF CORRESPONDENCE PRIOR TO SUBMITTING DISPUTE

Please provide the dates requested in paragraphs A & B in the column at right. DATE

A.

Date health care provider first billed insurer or self-insurer.

NOTE: The provider has 6 months to file a dispute resolution request with the department from the date
the insurer or self-insurer first disputes the reasonableness of the fee charged.

Date insurer or self-insurer first disputes the reasonableness of the fee charged.

NOTE: |If this date is not within 30 days of the billing date shown in Section 1A, the insurer shall
compute and pay interest from this date if the provider prevails.

SECTION 2. ISSUES IN DISPUTE
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A. Indisputing the fees (listed in Section 4), did the insurer state it was using a data base certified n n
by the department?

B. Did the insurer state that the disputed fees are higher than the formula amount in a certified n n
data base?

C. Isthe provider alleging that a fee greater than the formula amount from a certified data base is
justified because the service for each disputed fee was more difficult or complicated to provide ] ]
than the usual care?

D. If the answer to C is yes, and at least 20 days prior to filing this dispute, did the provider explain n n
to the insurer the reason why the higher fee was justified?

E. If the answer to D is yes, did the insurer respond to the explanation? ] ]

F. Is there a dispute about whether the fee for service was properly coded? ] ]

G. Are there other matters in dispute? (If yes, attach a narrative explanation.) ] ]

H. Are you continuing to treat this patient for the injury? ] ]

PLEASE CONTINUE TO PROVIDE INFORMATION ON THE REVERSE SIDE
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SECTION 3.

NAME

ADDRESS

Health Care Provider

Insurer or
Self-Insurer

(NOT BILL REVIEWER)

Employer
(at time of injury)

SECTION 5. As required by law, | am enclosing copies of all
correspondence and medical records relating to this dispute
including:

1. The insurer’s or self-insurer’s initial notice refusing to pay.

[]Yes 1 No

2. My written response explaining to the insurer why the fee
was justified.

] Yes ] No

As required by law, | am sending one copy of this dispute
resolution request with all attachments to the insurer or self-
insurer at the same time | filed this request with the Division.

] Yes ] No

Employee - Patient

Injury Date

Social Security No.

Provision of the Social Security Number
(SSN) is voluntary; not providing it could
result in an information processing delay.

Certified Data Base
Used by Insurer

The health care provider whose fee is the subject of this
dispute:
Name:

Lic. No. to Practice in WI:

Signature:

Date Signed:
Provider Billing Office Telephone:

The provider’s fee is based upon the zip code where the service was provided. If the zip code indicated for the health care provider in section 3 of this form is not the
zip code location where the service was provided, please indicate the correct zip code for each service listed in section 4.

SECTION 4.

SPECIFIC TREATMENT
IN DISPUTE

TREATMENT
ZIP CODE

NUMBER OF
TREATMENTS

NUMBER
OF UNITS

CPT/REV

BILLINGCODE | MODIFIER

CPT

DATES AMOUNT
FROM TO CHARGED *PAID DISPUTED

0.00

0.00

0.00

0.00

0.00

TOTAL $0.00 $0.00 $0.00

*The “Amount Paid” should also include any adjustments so that the final “Amount Disputed” is equal to the “Amount Charged” less the “Amount Paid.”




